線上學葡萄牙文

就在今年流利說葡萄牙文

葡萄牙語使用的觸及範圍包括世界的四個角落。不僅在世界最多人使用的語言排行榜上排名第六,甚至在世界各大洲都能找到使用葡萄牙語的身影。雖然葡萄牙語在過去一直活在西班牙語的討論之下,但如今葡萄牙語本身也發展出自己的迷人之處,葡語已經在許多地區廣泛的被使用,並且未來經濟的發展淺能也讓人無法忽略

在眾多歐洲語言之中,葡萄牙語是最快速發展的語言,僅排名在英語之後。說到葡語,你可能會驚訝於這門語言除了在葡萄牙和巴西使用之外,還在更多國家作為官方使用語言。將葡萄牙語作為唯一官方語言的國家有佛得角共和國、幾內亞比紹共和國、莫桑比克共和國、安哥拉共和國和聖多美普林西比民主共和國。而將葡萄牙語作為共同官方語言的國家則為東帝汶民主共和國、赤道幾內亞共和國,和我們華文圈較為熟悉的澳門。

葡萄牙語屬於西羅曼語族的一支,源自伊比利亞半島。如同其他的羅曼語言,葡萄牙語是從通俗拉丁語演化而來,這門語言是在羅馬帝國時作為口說使用的語言。在1290年之時,人們才給予「葡萄牙語」這個稱號。16世紀之時,印刷機的發明幫助葡萄牙語成為一門標準語言,而隨著葡萄牙開始在世界不同地區向外拓展、殖民,這門語言也被帶到不同地方。

線上學葡萄牙文:自由以及彈性學習

利用手機學習葡萄牙文的女生
隨時隨地都能上線學習葡萄牙文

在你決定開始學習葡萄牙文之後,緊接著的問題通常是怎麼做。使用網路資源線上學習,能有許多好處。

  • 任何時間 不管是多早起床,或者中午吃飯的午休時間,又或者是晚上睡前。你都能自己決定練習葡萄牙文的時間點和時間長度。

  • 任何地點 學習葡萄牙文不一定要坐在課堂教室中,你可以在家穿著睡衣,或者在咖啡廳或者通勤的路上。只要你有電腦或者智慧型手機以及網路,不管在哪個地方,都能練習。

  • 沒有壓力 當你使用這些網路工具線上學習葡萄牙文時,你可以享受學習的過程,而不需要擔憂什麼考試或者成績結果。你能更放鬆並且更專注在學習,你知道你是為了自己而努力,並非任何人。這樣的心態將會幫助你的葡萄牙語學習更簡單。

  • 應用自己所學 如果你正利用網頁或者APP學習葡萄牙語,好處就是你可以隨時聆聽或重播任何課程。許多語言學習資源結合最新的科技,讓你在線上學習時能夠看到自己錯誤的地方,因此這皆能幫助你不斷地改善語言技巧。

  • 個人化學習 線上學習語言和傳統的課堂學習不同之處在於提供更多個人化的設定。許多線上資源是互動式的學習,並且可以根據個人學習喜好而彈性調整。這也能讓你學習語言更為有動力。

  • 花費 利用科技線上學習葡萄牙文也比傳統的課堂上課方式還要來得經濟實惠,例如,你不需要在課程品質和便利性上做取捨。另一方面,線上課程或者其他網路學習資源也提供更多的學習教材,也更有趣。更別說另外包含的免費選項可以選擇。

  • 全球各地的葡萄牙母語者陪你練習 要在網路上找到說葡萄牙語的外國人做語言交換是非常容易的事,例如Facebook或我們的app。現在就下載,免費註冊使用

說出流利的葡萄牙語就靠和母語者聊天!

為什麼學習葡萄牙文?

最多人使用的語言排行榜上,葡萄牙語被列為第六名,也是在眾多歐語之中成長最快速的語言,僅次於英語。學會說葡萄牙文也代表著你有能力和世界上超過2億的人口對話,而這些葡萄牙與母語者不僅來自南美洲和歐洲,還有可能來自你意想不到的地方,如非洲和亞洲。

儘管葡萄牙語有相當大數量的母語使用者,但這門語言並不是流行學習的第二種語言。不過學習好這門語言,仍能讓你的履歷格外亮眼,在眾多求職者中脫穎而出,改善就業前景。而就現在來說,沒有更好的時機了!過去幾十年來,巴西的經濟起飛、迅速發展,現在已經擠入全世界十大經濟體之中。

葡萄牙語發音的旋律、表現力搶眼的音調以及豐富的元音使得這門語言格外特別

許多羅曼語族的語言都相當接近,也因此學習好葡萄牙語,將能幫助你開往其他羅曼語言的大門,如西班牙文、義大利文、法文和、羅馬尼亞語。因為皆從拉丁語演變而來,葡萄牙語和其他語言擁有相近的文法、句構和單字。如果你能學好其中一項語言的話,那麼要掌握另外的羅曼語將會相對容易。

葡萄牙語是門讓人驚艷的語言,而學習一門語言最好的理由莫過於是為了單純的喜悅和樂趣。葡萄牙語發音的旋律、表現力十足的音調以及豐富的元音範圍讓葡萄牙語相當特別。這些和聲使葡萄牙語產生豐富的音樂傳統,包括法多、波薩諾瓦和森巴等等。

我應該學巴西葡語還是歐洲葡語?

認真來說,要回答哪一種語言比較好其實都是個人喜好。不過我們在此就是要來幫助你更容易做出選擇。在看哪一種對你比較好之前,我們來看看巴西葡萄牙語和歐洲葡萄牙語的差別:

巴西葡萄牙語說起來比較緩慢而且有比較開闊的母音,至於歐洲葡萄牙語則有比較重的鼻音, 在沒有經過葡萄牙語訓練的人耳中,聽起來可能有一點急促及含糊不清。 值得注意的是,不管是巴西葡萄牙語還是歐洲葡萄牙語都有因地區差異而不同的口音以及使用方式。不管你最終決定要選擇哪一種葡萄牙語,你都會注意到單字的差異以及發音的不同。

在巴西葡萄牙語和歐洲葡萄牙語之中,你可以發現到一些單字拼音的差異。不過近幾年來有許多拼音試著統一這兩種方言的差異。我們一起來看這個單字『接待』在兩個方言之中不同的拼法。在巴西葡文中,寫做 “recepcão” ,而在歐洲葡文則為 “receção”

在這兩者之中,歐洲葡萄牙文被視為較為正式的語言,而這個差異則是來自於文法上些微的不同。

兩種方言根據各自的地理位置和歷史因素而發展出差異,而這可以在一些單字上找到證明。巴西葡語因為位處拉丁美洲,不少單字是結合南美洲的部落語言,而歐洲葡語則是傳統的羅曼語言。我們再來看看『鳳梨』的單字,在巴西稱為 “abacaxi”,這個單字是來自稱為圖皮語系的部落語言。而在葡萄牙,鳳梨則稱為 “ananás”,如同其他的歐洲語言。

查看我們的文章,了解更多巴西葡萄牙文和歐洲葡萄牙文的差異

葡萄牙里斯本路面電車

既然我們現在了解兩種方言的差異,那麼在決定要選擇哪種方言學習之前,還有個重要的問題得問問你自己⋯⋯

究竟為什麼要選擇葡萄牙文呢?

不管是哪種理由燃起你對這門語言的學習興趣,都將直接的影響你的學習狀況以及該學習哪個方言。你本身和其中一個國家有關聯嗎?你打算到巴西或者葡萄牙發展職涯或者留學進修嗎?你是被巴西的熱情嘉年華文化吸引呢?還是深受古典文學之美而感動?如果是的話,那麼歐洲葡萄牙語會是你的最佳選擇。以上提到這些只是簡單幾個問題,讓你仔細的思考哪個方言才能符合自己所需。

如果你沒有因以上任何個人因素影響,那麼我們會推薦你先從巴西葡萄牙文開始學起,因為根據其他學習者的分享,巴西葡語比起歐洲葡語,學習起來較為簡單。當你能夠掌握巴西葡語之後,你只需要做些許的單字調整或者文法改變,就能快速的掌握歐洲葡語。

葡萄牙文的文法

葡萄牙文中的文法,像是結構、句法,都和其他羅曼語相近。我們一起來看看葡萄牙文文法的內容:

葡萄牙文中的定冠詞和不定冠詞

在英文文法中,只有一個定冠詞“the”,和兩個不定冠詞“a”和“an”。而葡萄牙文根據名詞的性別(陰性和陽性)以及數量(單數或複數)各有不同的冠詞。

通常來說,名詞以 “o” 結尾的為陽性,所以必須使用陽性冠詞。而以 “a”,“dade”“gem” 結尾的為陰性名詞,而使用陰性冠詞。但凡事總有個例外,舉例來說單字如果為 “ema”“grama” 結尾的是陽性,而 “ão” 結尾的可能是陽性,也可能是陰性。


定冠詞

陽性 陰性
單數 o a
複數 os as

不定冠詞

陽性 陰性
單數 um uma
複數 uns umas


葡萄牙文中的動詞以其變化

不管哪門語言,動詞都是學習的重點核心。在葡文中,有三種主要的動詞結尾,分別為: “-ar”(例:“falar”說)、 “-er”(例:“comer”吃)和 “-ir”(例:“decidir”決定)。這些動詞都是原型(不定式)。

動詞變化是根據我們要用來溝通 “何時”(時態)以及 “誰”(人稱代名詞)時,將原型動詞做變化。

當我們要談及 “何時”,我們需要仔細看看時態。在葡萄牙文中有六個時態,分別為 Presente(現在式)、Pretérito(過去式)、Imperfeito(未完成式)、Mais-que-perfeito(完成式)、Futuro(未來式)和 Condicional(條件式)。

要為原型動詞做變化時,需要根據時態和人稱代名詞,有兩件事需要注意:捨去原型動詞結尾("-ar", "-er""-ir")並根據變化增加動詞結尾。

以下表格列出葡文的人稱代名詞和 現在時態 模式:


動詞結尾為'AR' 動詞結尾為'ER' 動詞結尾為'IR'
Eu - o - o - o
Tu - as - es - es
Você/ Ele/ Ela - a - e - e
Nós - amos - emos - imos
Vocês/ Eles/ Elas - am - em - em


在巴西葡文中,“tu”並不常使用,而是以“Você”非正式地表示「你」。在葡萄牙及非洲地區,“você”則是以正式用法表示。

葡萄牙文的句子順序

簡單來說,葡萄牙文的句子結構和英文相差不遠:

主詞 > 動詞 > 受詞

我們以下面的範例來說明葡萄牙文的句子順序:


主詞 動詞 受詞 補語
過去式 Nós
我們
lemos
讀了
um livro
一本書
na praia.
在海灘。
現在式 Ele
tem
擁有
uma casa
一間房子
no Rio de Janeiro.
在里約熱內盧。
未來式 Os Senhores
您(紳士)
marcam
將安排
a reunião
這場會議
para amanhã.
在明天。


你或許已經注意到在葡萄牙文的現在過去式、現在式和未來式的句子順序是一樣的。

在葡文中,如果想要將句子改為否定,那麼需要將否定詞("não", "nunca", 或 "nem")放在動詞之前。例如, “Nós não vamos à praia”(我們不會去海灘)。

另外需要注意的一點是,葡萄牙文中的形容詞通常都是 擺放在名詞之後。例如, ”A casa grande”(那間大房子)。

假設你想將句子改為問句的話,在葡萄牙文中相當簡單,句子順序如同直述句,但是在口說時會需要特別提高句尾的音調,而在寫作時也別忘記加上問號。

如果你想直接問問題的話,你只需要在句子前端放上疑問詞,如:"O que ele faz no Rio de Janeiro?"(他在里約熱內盧做什麼?)。

葡萄牙文的發音和基本短句

練習葡萄牙文的兩個女生
學習用葡萄牙語說謝謝或者其它必備短句

我們現在要來說說葡萄牙文的發音,有五個基本重點需要理解:

1. 單字的重音:

大部分的葡文單字重音放在 倒數第二個音節。不過,以“L”, “Z”, “R”, “U” 和 “I”結尾的單字,重音要放在 最後一個音節

這是因為葡萄牙語母語者認為重音像是『吞下去』的單字。但實際上,他們的方式是將單字中沒有強調的重音部分沈默帶過,或者直接進到下一個單字。

2. 變音符號的書寫:

剛剛我們講到重音需放在哪個音節,但若是你在單字中看到某些字母上方有標明音調,那麼你就必須忽略其它的規則(我知道聽起來很複雜,不過這就是語言的迷人之處)。葡萄牙語之中有四個變音符號:尖音符(á)、重音符(à)、揚抑符(â)和波浪號(ã)。

當讀到一個單字時,每個母音都要發音,以掌握葡萄牙語的發音

尖音符 的字母是最重的發音,而 揚仰符 若出現在較短的單字之中,母音的發音幾乎是加倍(例如,“têm”這個單字的發音應該是如“tay-eng”,非“teng”),而有 波浪號 的字,聽起來則向帶有鼻音。

3. 母音:

母音“A”有較開闊的音,如“ah”,或者較封閉以及輕柔的“uh”音。通常來說,“a”若在句子開頭,則是較嘴巴較大,開闊的音,在句尾時則是較輕柔的音。

“e”也是相同,有開闊及封閉的音。開闊的“e”聽起來像是“eh”,就像是在英文單字“get“中的發音。至於封閉的”e“比較常見,聽起來像是英文單字“lay”或“way”中的“ay”。

母音“o“中,開闊的音如同英文單字“law“中的“aw”。封閉的“o“音較為輕柔,如英文單字”cold“中的“oh”音。

葡萄牙文發音的重點就是要記得 發每個單字中的母音,以掌握葡萄牙文的發音技巧。

4. 葡文中的“S”音:

當“S”出現在兩個母音之間時,聽起來像是英文的“z”音。舉例來說,“rosa”(玫瑰)和 “casado”(結婚)。

若出現在單字開頭的話,那麼就像英文單字”soap”和“Saturday”中的“S”音。例如,“sabão”“sábado”。若是你在單字中看到 “ss”,如這個單字 “profissional”,那麼也是相同的發音方式。

當後面緊接濁音(b, d, g, j, l, lh, m, n, nh, r, rr, v和z),發音則如英文單字中“casual” 和 “seizure”的“zh” 和 “j”音。你可以在這兩個葡萄牙文單字–“Islândia”“felizmente” 中聽到這兩個音。

如果後面緊接著清音(c, ç, ch, f, p, q, s, t),則像英文單字“English“中的”sh“音。你可以在這兩個葡萄牙文單字 “Inglês”“faz” 中聽到這個音。

“C” 和 “Ç”:

我們接著來看看這兩個字母,“C”是規則,而“Ç”則是例外。Ç (cedilla或cedilha)這個字母只有一個發音– “sss”,如同英文單字的”service“。你可以在葡文單字的 “comunicação”“açúcar” 聽到。

總算告一段落,葡文中的發音規則不少呢!

一但你掌握葡萄牙語的發音方式,那麼你就已經準備號開始學習些基本的葡萄牙語單字和短句。我們一起來看看以下範例:

Bom dia!
哈囉!
Como vai?
你好嗎?
Eu estou bem, e você / tú?
我很好,你呢?
Não sei
我不知道
Até logo!
待會見!
Obrigado / Obrigada
謝謝
De nada
不客氣
Qual é o seu nome?
你怎麼稱呼?
Me chamo…
我的名字是⋯
Desculpa
對不起
Feliz aniversario!
生日快樂!
Felicidades!
恭喜!
Vens de que país?
你來自哪裡?
Eu venho da Inglaterra
我來自英國
Não compreendo
我不知道



學習葡萄牙語的資源

網路之普及,現在有許多學習資源,還真不知道該從哪開始找起。不過你很幸運,我們已經為你準備好一份明確的列表,讓你的葡萄牙語學習之路可以輕鬆一點。

1. Tandem

如果能夠經常的使用和口說使用,尤其是和葡萄牙文母語者,那麼學習起葡萄牙文會更加快速。這特殊的學習方法是Tandem的核心理念。

Tandem app能夠幫助你更有效率的學習語言。Tandem是全球最大的語言學習社區,由超過百萬的語言學習者而組成。這個App能讓你認識來自全球各地的葡萄牙語母語者,並透過文字和語音訊息、視訊通話學習。讓你能夠輕鬆沈浸在葡萄牙語的語言和文化環境之中,免費達到流利口說的地步!

在咖啡廳進行葡萄牙文語言交換
還在找尋語言學習的成功方式和動力嗎?
就和母語人士練習對話,在日常生活中熟悉這門語言

2. Bab.la

不管是哪個語言的學習者,都會需要隨身攜帶的字典。Bab.la是線上字典,不僅讓你能隨時隨地查找單字,也能找到常用的表達措辭。除了有他們自己的翻譯功能之外,還有詞態變化的表格,讓你能夠查看單字的各種變化。

3. Podcasts

如果你是個需要語音幫助的學習者,那麼Podcast絕對是個不錯的資源幫助學習葡萄牙文。對於初學者來說,我們會推薦 Todo Mundo Pod。這個Podcast是為初學者而特別規劃的,所以絕對是個好起點。

而對於中級和高級的葡萄牙語學習者,RTP Play(Rádio e Televisão de Portugal)同樣是個不錯的選擇。RTP是葡萄牙的國家廣播電視頻道,他們的網站也提供相當多免費葡萄牙語Podcasts的選擇。

4. YouTube

Speaking Brazilian”是我們首選為學習葡萄牙語的最佳資源。這個頻道是由巴西人製作,裡面大量的影片有關於單字、文法和發音,除此之外也有介紹巴西和歐洲葡文之間的差異。

如今有這些現成的資源,讓你能夠簡單又有趣地積極學習葡萄牙語!

說出流利的葡萄牙語就靠和母語者聊天!

Learn Portuguese Online

Let this be the year you master Portuguese

The language that touches the four corners of the globe. Portuguese is not only the sixth most spoken language in the world, but it also has a presence on almost all of the world’s continents. Portuguese is a language no longer stuck in the shadow of Spanish. It’s too widely spoken and has too much economic muscle to be ignored.

Portuguese is the fastest-growing European language after English. You may be surprised to hear that it’s spoken in more countries than Portugal and Brazil. Portuguese is also the sole official language of Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Angola, and São Tomé and Príncipe and a co-official language in East Timor, Equatorial Guinea, and Macau.

Portuguese is a Western Romance language originating in the Iberian Peninsula. Like all romance languages, Portuguese developed from vulgar Latin which was the spoken Latin used during the Roman Empire. It was only in 1290 that the language received its name, Portuguese. In the 1500s when the newly developed printing press helped make Portuguese a standardized language, Portugal had already started exploring and colonizing different areas of the world, bringing their language with them.

Learn Portuguese Online: Freedom and Flexibility with Learning

Woman using phone
Learn Portuguese online anytime, anywhere

Once you have decided to learn Portuguese, the next question is usually how. Learning online has a lot of advantages.

  • Anytime. In the morning, on your lunch break or in the evenings. You decide when and for how long you want to practice Portuguese.
  • Anywhere. You can learn Portuguese anywhere and everywhere— at home in your pajamas, in a café or on the road. As long as you have a laptop or smartphone and working internet, you can always learn.
  • No pressure. When you learn Portuguese online, you can enjoy the learning process and not be under any pressure from upcoming exams or your grade expectations, etc. Instead, you can stay relaxed and focused. You are learning just for yourself, nobody else. This makes learning considerably easier.
  • Apply what you have learned. If you are learning Portuguese on the web or with an app, you can listen to and repeat anything at any time. With sophisticated technology integrated into many language learning resources, you can be corrected and thus continuously improve your language skills.
  • Personalization. A lot of online resources are interactive and can adapt flexibly to your personal learning preferences. This makes it easier for you to stay motivated.
  • Cost. Learning Portuguese online is generally more economical than attending a language course without making any sacrifices on quality or convenience, for example. On the other hand, online courses or other online resources offer more learning material and are more fun. Not to mention, there are plenty of free options available.
  • Portuguese-speaking language exchange partners worldwide. There are many ways to find Portuguese tandem partners on the Internet. For example on Facebook, or with our app— just sign up and get started!
Learn to speak Portuguese fluently by chatting with native speakers!

Why Learn the Portuguese Language?

Portuguese is the sixth most spoken language in the world and the fastest-growing European language after English. Being able to speak Portuguese, means you have the ability to communicate with over 200 million native speakers from not only South America and Europe but from more unexpected places such as Africa and Asia.

Despite the high number of native speakers, Portuguese is not a popular second language to learn. Setting yourself apart and learning Portuguese helps bolster your CV and improve your job prospects. Currently, there couldn’t be a better time to capitalize on this. In the past decade, the Brazilian economy has skyrocketed to now be in the world’s top ten largest economies.

The melodic, expressive intonations and the rich range of vowels sounds make Portuguese very special

Portuguese is a gateway to other romance languages like Spanish, Italian, French and Romanian. Portuguese shares this similarity having also evolved from Latin, making their grammar, syntax, and vocabulary quite similar. If you can master one of them, it’s a lot easier to master the others.

Portuguese is an absolutely stunning language and there’s no better reason to learn a language than just for the pure pleasure and joy. The melodic, expressive intonations and the rich range of vowels sounds make Portuguese very special. These harmonic sounds have lended the language to produce rich musical traditions including Fado, Bossa Nova, and Samba to name a few.

Should I Learn Brazilian or European Portuguese?

Admittedly, answering the question of which one is the better choice, is often quite personal. However, we are here to make your selection a little easier. Before we get into which one is best for you, let’s take a look at the difference between Brazilian and European Portuguese:

Brazilian Portuguese is spoken more slowly and with open vowels, while European Portuguese has stronger nasal vowels and may sound quite rushed and mumbled to an untrained ear. It’s worth noting that both Brazilian and European Portuguese have regional accents and quirks. Whichever dialect you choose to learn, it will also come with some variations of words and pronunciation.

There are some minor spelling differences between Brazilian and European Portuguese, however, recent spelling reforms are trying to unify the two. An example of a difference in spelling is the word “reception.” In Brazilian Portuguese it’s written “recepcão,” whereas with European Portuguese it’s “receção.”

European Portuguese is considered the more formal of the two which pertains to some minor grammatical differences.

Both dialects evolved according to their geographical location and history which is evidenced in some vocabulary differences. Brazilian Portuguese combines words from South American indigenous languages, while European Portuguese with traditional Romance languages. The word for “pineapple” in Brazil, for example, is “abacaxi,” which comes from the indigenous Tupí language. Whereas in Portugal it’s “ananás”— aligning with other European languages.

Check out our article for more differences between Brazilian and European Portuguese.

Now we know what distinguishes the two, there’s an important question to ask yourself before deciding which dialect is best for you to learn…

Why Portuguese, exactly?

Whatever sparked your interest in the language will have a direct impact on which dialect you choose to learn. Do you have personal connections to one of the countries? Are you planning on moving to Brazil or Portugal for your career or studies? Maybe you’re fascinated by carnival culture in Brazil or perhaps classic literature is more your speed, in which case European Portuguese would be the better choice. These are just a few examples to think about.

If you have no personal connections to either one, however, we recommend you to start with Brazilian Portuguese first since it's said to be easier to learn than its European counterpart. After you’ve mastered the Brazilian dialect, you then only have to make slight vocabulary and grammar changes to master European Portuguese.

Portuguese Grammar

Portuguese grammar—the structure, and syntax of the Portuguese language—are similar to that of most other Romance languages. Let’s take a look at what makes up Portuguese grammar:

The definite and indefinite articles

In English there is only one definite article—“the”—and two indefinite articles—“a” and “an.” Portuguese, however, has different articles for each gender (feminine or masculine) and number (singular or plural) of the noun.

Usually, nouns ending in “o” are masculine and so take the masculine article and those ending in “a”, “dade” and “gem” are feminine, so take the feminine article. The exception to this is, for example, words ending in “ema” or “grama” which are masculine and words ending in “ão” can be either masculine or feminine.


Definite

Masculine Feminine
Singular o a
Plural os as

Indefinite

Masculine Feminine
Singular um uma
Plural uns umas


Portuguese Verbs

Verbs are the core of any language. In Portuguese, there are 3 main verb endings: "-ar" (e.g. “falar”/ to talk), "-er" (e.g. “comer”/ to eat) and "-ir" (e.g. “decidir”/ to decide). These verbs are in the infinitive form.

Verb conjugation is when we change the infinitive verb form to communicate when (tense) and who (personal pronoun).

To communicate when, we need to look at the tense. There are six tenses in Portuguese—Presente (present), Pretérito (preterite), Imperfeito (imperfect), Mais-que-perfeito (pluperfect), Futuro (future), and Condicional (conditional).

To conjugate the infinitive verb form based on the tense and the personal pronoun, you need to do two things: drop the infinitive verb ending ("-ar", "-er" or "-ir") and add a new ending.

See the below table for the personal pronouns in Portguese and the present tense patterns:


'AR' verb endings 'ER' verb endings 'IR' verb endings
Eu - o - o - o
Tu - as - es - es
Você/ Ele/ Ela - a - e - e
Nós - amos - emos - imos
Vocês/ Eles/ Elas - am - em - em


The form “tu” is rarely used in Brazil. Instead, “Você” is used to mean “you” in an informal way. In Portugal and Africa, however, “você” is used in a formal way.

Portuguese Word Order

The sentence structure in Portuguese is, generally speaking, not much different than that of English:

Subject > Verb > Object

Let's illustrate the Portuguese word order with the examples below:


Subject Verb Object Phrase complement
Past Nós
We
lemos
read
um livro
a book
na praia.
at the beach.
Present Ele
He
tem
has
uma casa
a house
no Rio de Janeiro.
in Rio de Janeiro.
Future Os Senhores
You (gentlemen)
marcam
are going to schedule
a reunião
the meeting
para amanhã.
for tomorrow.


Notice how the Portuguese word order is the same in the present, past, and future tenses.

If you want to turn the sentence into a negative statement, the negative word ("não", "nunca", or "nem") goes before the verb in Portuguese. For example, “Nós não vamos à praia” (we aren’t going to the beach).

It’s also important to note that the adjective (descriptive word) is always placed after the noun in Portuguese. For example, ”A casa grande” (the big house).

If you want to ask a question, the Portuguese word order is exactly the same as above, however, you would need to raise the intonation at the end when speaking or add a question mark at the end of the sentence when writing.

If you want to ask a direct question however, all you need to do is add a question word at the beginning of your sentence: "O que ele faz no Rio de Janeiro?" (What does he do in Rio de Janeiro?).

Pronunciation and Basic Portuguese Phrases

Basic Portuguese phrases
Learn how to say thank you and other essential phrases in Portuguese

There are five basic things to understand when it come to Portuguese pronunciation:

1. The stress in a word:

Most Portuguese words are stressed in the second last syllable. However, words ending with “L”, “Z”, “R”, “U” and “I”, are stressed in the last syllable.

It’s because of word stresses that Portuguese native speakers are thought to ‘swallow’ words. What they actually do is silence the part of the word that is not stressed, or they run one word into the next one.

2. Written accents:

If you have a word that has a written accent you must ignore all the other rules (I know, we’re sorry). Portuguese has four written accents: the acute accent (á), the grave accent (à), the circumflex accent (â), the tilde (ã).

Pronounce every single vowel when reading a word to nail that Portuguese pronunciation

The acute accent is the strongest one. The circumflex accent almost doubles the vowel when the word is short (for example, the word “têm,” it’s pronounced “tay-eng” rather than “teng”) and the tilde makes a vowel sound more nasal.

3. The vowels:

“A” can have an open “ah” sound or a closed, soft “uh” sound. Normally the “a” is open at the beginning of a word, and closed at the end.

The “e” can also be open and closed in sound. The open “e” sounds like “eh” in the word “get” in English. The closed E is more common, and it has the sound “ay” like the words "lay” or “way” in English.

An open “o” has a “aw” sound, like the English word “law.” The closed “o” is a bit softer and has an “oh” sound, like in the word “cold” in English.

An important rule to remember is to pronounce every single vowel when reading a word to nail that Portuguese pronunciation.

4. That “S” sound:

When “s” appears between vowels it sounds like “z” in English. For example, “rosa” (rose) and “casado” (married).

When at the beginning of a word, the sound is like the “s” in the English words “soap” and “Saturday.” For example, “sabão” and “sábado.” This is also the same sound for when it appears doubled (“ss”) in the middle of a word e.g. “profissional.”

When followed by a voiced consonant (b, d, g, j, l, lh, m, n, nh, r, rr, v and z), it’s like the “zh” or “j” sound in English – “casual” and “seizure,” for example. This sound appears in the Portuguese words “Islândia” and “felizmente” for instance.

When followed by an unvoiced consonant (c, ç, ch, f, p, q, s, t), it has an “sh” sound, like the English word “English.” This sound appears in the Portuguese words “Inglês” and “faz,” for example.

5. “C” and “Ç”:

Consider that the letter “C” is the rule and “Ç” the exception. The Ç (cedilla or cedilha) only has one sound – “sss,” like in the English word “service.” This sound appears in the Portuguese words “comunicação” and “açúcar” for instance.

Phew, that was a lot!

Once you’ve got the Portuguese pronunciation down, you’re ready to start learning a few basic Portuguese words and phrases. Take a look at some of them below:

Bom dia!
Hello!
Como vai?
How’s it going?
Eu estou bem, e você / tú?
I’m good, and you?
Não sei
I don’t know
Até logo!
See you later!
Obrigado / Obrigada
Thank you
De nada
You’re welcome
Qual é o seu nome?
What is your name?
Me chamo…
My name is…
Desculpa
I’m sorry
Feliz aniversario!
Happy birthday!
Felicidades!
Congratulations!
Vens de que país?
Where do you come from?
Eu venho da Inglaterra
I come from England
Não compreendo
I don’t understand



Resources for Learning Portuguese

There are so many options out there, it’s hard to know where to start. Lucky for you we have made a definitive list to make your Portuguese language learning journey that bit easier.

1. Tandem

You’ll learn Portuguese much faster by using and speaking the language especially with a native Portuguese speaker. This particular method is at the heart of Tandem.

The Tandem app is the most effective way to gain fluency in any language. With millions of members, Tandem is the largest global language learning community out there! Tandem lets you connect with native Portuguese speakers all over the world, and practice speaking via text, voice notes, and video calling. Immerse yourself in the Portuguese language and culture, and speak your way to fluency, for free!

Coffee place
Looking for success and motivation in language learning? Have conversations with native speakers to get used to speaking the language in real life

2. Bab.la

Every language learner needs their go-to dictionary. Bab.la is an online dictionary where you can not only look up words, but also common expressions. They have their own translation function and a tab for conjugations so you can see words in their different forms.

3. Podcasts

For you audio learners out there, podcasts are a great resource to learn Portuguese. For beginners, we recommend Todo Mundo Pod. This podcast is a great place to start because it’s specifically designed for language learners.

For intermediate to advanced Portuguese learners, RTP Play (Rádio e Televisão de Portugal) ia an equally great choice. RTP is the Portuguese national radio and television channel and on its website, it offers a wide variety of free Portuguese podcasts.

4. YouTube

Speaking Brazilian” is our top choice as a great resource for learning Portuguese. This channel, created by a native Brazilian, has tons of videos on vocabulary, grammar and pronunciation, including differences between Brazilian and European Portuguese.

With all the resources readily accessible these days, it’s easy and fun to get actively involved in practicing your Portuguese!

Learn to speak Portuguese fluently by chatting with native speakers!