語言交換是什麼?

關於語言交換,你應該要知道的事

你或許聽過Language exchange(語言交換),但許多單字也同時有「語言交換」的意思,例如:conversation exchange(交換對話)、intercambio(西文:交換)、tandem。先前我們介紹過tandem一詞,原本是雙人協力車的單字,但隨著時間,這個字也衍伸出語言交換的意思。想像一下,語言交換就像是騎協力車一樣,兩個人一起努力前進。

你可能比較常聽到language exchange這個字,不過,不管你是不是都聽過以上的單字,這些字都擁有相同意思:

「語言交換是一種藉由和使用不同母語的語言學習者,互相幫助彼此練習語言的學習方法。這通常由使用不同母語的雙方,教導對方自己的母語。」 — 維基百科

換句話說,語言交換是指 和某個人(也就是你的語言夥伴)合作的過程,這個人最好是以你想學習的語言為母語的人。藉由 雙向直接溝通和對話的過程,雙方學習者都能有機會 提升語言技巧和熟練程度,同時也 培養跨文化的能力

認識各地母語者,隨時隨地練習!

要進行語言交換不是只有一種方式,拜科技所賜,除了面對面的語言交換,現在也能藉由網路進行線上語言交換:

面對面語言交換

這個方式就是語言夥伴雙方於現實生活中碰面,並且面對面進行語言交換。在語言交換時,兩個語言的使用時間應該平均分配,這樣雙方才能夠有效並且公平地練習到目標語言。有些人會喜歡將一次語言交換劃分成上下半場,以中文和日文的語言交換為例,在上半場的十分鐘內,雙方只使用中文對談。十分鐘過後,則換為下半場,在這下半場,雙方只使用日文對談。也有的人則喜歡不同方式,例如一週兩天的語言交換,每天進行半小時對話,第一天只使用中文進行對談,第二天就只使用日文。

這兩種方式都是不錯的選擇,端看你和語言交換對象喜歡哪種方式進行語言交換。在各個城市都有固定各種語言的語言交換,例如日文語言交換在台北、英文語言交換在台南、韓文語言交換在台中。若是還在就學的話,也能到學校的國際學生事務處、華語中心佈告欄等留意消息,例如師大、政大、台大都有類似的活動。

這種進行方法基於社交互動,參與者可以全面地沈浸在目標語言和該文化之中。而這種面對面的方法更能完全專注聽力理解和口說技巧上。

線上語言交換:網站和app

在科技化時代,數位交流讓語言交換也變得更可行,你能輕鬆在網路上找到來自各地的人,就算在家也能找到日本人用日文討論日本旅遊,或找到韓國人用韓文談論追星文化,甚至用英文談論國際新聞。這種方式也被稱為etandem,網路上有許多平台可以進行這樣的語言文化交換,從Email筆友,到語言交換網站和app。進行方式也與面對面語言交換相同,使用語言的練習時間應該平均分配,這樣雙方才能都練習到學習的語言。

但根據使用者操作的媒介,這種線上語言交換也能提升各種語言能力技巧:聽力、口說、閱讀和寫作。

為什麼選擇語言交換?

這邊我們也整理一些關於語言交換這個學習法的優點跟缺點。

要讓自己沈浸在目標語言的使用環境,和母語者練習對話是最好的方法。

語言流利度的改善:

沈浸式學習是眾所皆知最有效率學習語言的方式。要讓自己沈浸在目標語言的使用環境,和母語者練習對話是最好的管道。語言交換的方式讓你把在課堂學習的語言技巧再次複習一次,同時也讓你有機會能夠將課本上的文法應用在實際生活中,同時也能從母語者身上學習到更生活化的口語用法和道地俚語。

而這樣的方式能夠給予更豐富的語言學習經驗,同時也因為給予耐心和時間理解對方所說的每字每句,因此也能保持一個富有彼此支持且有成效的學習環境。

提升跨文化溝通的能力:

文化認同和特性當中以語言為標誌,這意思是說語言和文化,兩者之間有不可劃分的關係,基本上是交織在一起。語言交換不僅是學習一門外語,更是學習文化的理解以及知識。通過這種開放性的對談和交流,你會對於一個國家、社會的風俗習慣、傳統、信仰和行為有更深面向的了解。

Language exchange online
有許多方式可以在家就能找到外國人進行語言交換,從電子郵件到語言交換網站,甚至到手機app。

建立信心:

我們知道不是每個人都有足夠的時間或是經濟,提供國外留學的方法。但是要如何不出國就認識日本人、韓國人或外國人呢?目前有許多方式可以在家就能找到外國人進行語言交換,從電子郵件到語言交換網站,甚至到手機app,有許多平台可以讓你藉由網路認識外國人,進行語言交換,培養你的信心,以及對該文化的理解。

對許多人來說,要開口真正使用正在學習的語言其實不是件容易的事。主要的原因在於大家都害怕犯錯。不過,古人說『失敗為成功之母。』,在學習一門語言,或者任何新事物的過程,犯錯是不可避免的部分。和外國人練習口說、進行語言交流,會迫使你離開舒適圈,因為你必須要開口說。隨著不斷的練習,這將能夠幫助你克服恐懼,建立你對外語口說的信心。

需要具備基本會話程度

語言交換可不是找個外國人聊天,英文或日文口說程度就會大幅提升。要參加語言交換之前,必須具備一定的基本語言程度。也就是說,在你的語言學習過程中,必須達到可以進行對話的階段。所以,語言交換並不能替代正規的語言教育,需要和其他工具、資源和課程結合,同時進行。

認識外國人,尋找合適的語言交換夥伴:

想要確保語言交換成功,找到與你合拍的語言交換夥伴相當重要。可不是每個在香港或台灣的外國人都是英文母語者,也不是每個外國人都會說英文,所以千萬別在路上碰到外國人就直接上前問他能不能說英文。

之所以強調合拍的語言交換夥伴如此重要,是因為這就如同認識朋友一樣。要頻率相同,才能讓語言交換過程變得更有趣,也減少對話中的尷尬或者艱辛。不過也別心急,不是每次的語言交換一開始就是完美,這需要一點時間和努力。相信我們,這些投資非常值得。因為在這過程中,你不僅僅獲得一個語言交換的夥伴,而是獲得一個跨國、跨文化的好友呢!

以下這段影片由我們的CPO和聯合創辦人Tobias Dickmeis分享語言交換的益處以及更多觀點。

Tandem語言交換

Tandem語言交換app 上,你能認識來自世界各地的母語者,並且免費和他們進行語言交流。我們是致力於語言交換的學習社區,Tandem使用者可以在這裡找到志同道合的語言交流夥伴,幫助你在台灣也能認識日本人、韓國人、美國人或世界各地的外國人。通過文字、語音訊息以及視訊通話,不需出國也能在家練習180多種語言,包含12種手語。

我們的核心價值是通過語言學習,讓世界各地的人不分國界團結起來。我們相信語言具備巨大的力量,能使世界團結、包容和平等。在Tandem中,我們歡迎來自全球各地的使用者、各種語言的使用者免費練習語言,並分享自己的文化。

Tandem語言交換是由Tandem Fundazioa組織所支持,此為發展語言交換學習法的組織。

Language exchange
想在語言學習的過程中找到支撐自己邁向成功的動力嗎?那就找個環境,讓自己能夠沈浸在這門語言中,透過和外國人練習口說,讓自己熟悉這門語言,並在生活中實際應用。

為什麼使用Tandem app?

有許多線上語言交換平台,為什麼要使用Tandem呢?

1. 語言學習功能:

Tandem app中內建了直覺式的語言學習工具,包括翻譯、發音、音譯和修正功能,這能幫助語言交流進行更順暢,讓你在語言交換期間學習不受干擾中斷。

2. 更容易找到外國人練習口說對話:

Tandem為最大的語言交換社區,擁有超過百萬的使用者,所以要在這百萬人之中找到與你志同道合的語言交換夥伴絕對不是難事。在app上,支援超過300種語言,包含12種手語,也就是說有超過11.000種語言組合。

3. 人性化的社區管理及審核:

我們擁有專門的真人管理員,日夜不停的工作,審核社區的檢舉內容,以確保Tandem社區的使用安全,並讓使用者在有趣的語言交換過程中也能安心使用。同時我們也制定三項社區指導原則,以此作為方針,所有使用者在進入app之前都需同意遵守。

4. 用你習慣的方式進行語言交換:

你能夠透過文字、語音訊息、語音或者視訊通話和Tandem夥伴交談。所以不管你偏好哪種語言交換方式,都能在app上進行。若是需要更多功能,也能加購會員,升級至 Tandem Pro,使用更多學習功能幫助你語言交換進行。

繼續閱讀我們的文章,了解如何建立完美的個人檔案,以及Tandem語言交換技巧,準備找個Tandem夥伴一起進行成功的語言交換!

認識各地母語者,隨時隨地練習!

What Is Language Exchange?

Everything you need to know about conversation exchange

Language exchange actively goes by many different terms— conversation exchange, intercambio, tandem. Regardless of which term you might be familiar with, they all have the same definition:

“Language exchange is a method of language learning based on mutual language practicing by learning partners who are speakers of different languages. This is usually done by two native speakers teaching each other their native language.” — Wikipedia

In other words, language exchange is the process of joining forces with someone, known as your language exchange partner, who is ideally a native speaker of the language you want to learn. Through a two-way process of direct communication and conversation, both learners are given the opportunity to improve their target language skills and proficiency while simultaneously fostering intercultural competence.

Learn to speak any language fluently by chatting with native speakers!

There are two main ways in which language exchange can be carried out— face-to-face and online:

Face-To-Face Tandem

This is where both partners meet in person and perform a language exchange. Time should be equally divided between speaking the two languages so that the learning is fairly distributed. Some may decide to dedicate the first half of a session to one language before switching to the other one. Others prefer to speak one language per meeting. The structure of the language exchange depends on the two participants.

Having this social element means that the participants become fully immersed in the target language and its culture. This method particularly focuses on listening comprehension and speaking skills.

Language Exchange Online

Digital communication has made it possible to participate in language exchange with people all over the world. Also known as etandem, there are numerous platforms available to facilitate this, from email to websites and mobile applications. As with face-to-face language exchange, time should be equally divided between the two languages.

Depending on the medium, this method can improve all four aspects of language learning— listening, speaking, reading and writing.

Why Language Exchange?

Here are some pros and cons of using language exchange as a language learning method.

There is no better way to immerse yourself in your target language than practicing speaking with a native speaker.

Improvement in language proficiency:

The most effective way to learn a language is through immersion. There is no better way to immerse yourself in your target language than practicing speaking with a native speaker. Language exchange solidifies what you have learned in the classroom while also offering real-world exposure to the vernacular language and colloquial expressions.

It offers a much richer experience of learning a language while also maintaining a supportive and productive environment where there is patience and time for understanding.

Development of intercultural competence:

Cultural identity is marked by language, meaning language and culture are inherently intertwined. Not only is language exchange concerned with language acquisition, but equally with cultural understanding and knowledge. Through open communication, you are given an incredible insight into the customs, traditions, beliefs, and behavior of a society.

Language exchange online
There are numerous platforms available to facilitate language exchange online, from email to websites and mobile applications

Builds confidence:

Speaking the language you are learning is a daunting challenge for many. The main reason for this is the fear of making mistakes. However, mistakes are a natural and integral part of language acquisition. Having a language exchange forces you to leave your comfort zone and speak the language, which with time, helps build your confidence with the language.

Need to have at least a conversational level:

In order to participate in a language exchange, you must be at that stage of your language learning journey where you can hold a conversation. Language exchange is, therefore, not a substitute for formal language education and needs to be used in combination with other tools and resources.

Finding the right language exchange partner:

To have a successful language exchange, it’s important to find the right language exchange partner for you. This makes the learning element of the exchange a lot more fun and a lot less arduous. This may take some time and effort, however, well worth the investment as you can not only gain a language exchange partner but a lifelong friend in the process.

To discover more potentials and pitfalls of language exchange, check out this talk by our CPO and co-founder, Tobias Dickmeis.


Tandem Language Exchange

The Tandem Language Exchange app connects language learners with native speakers all over the world for free. We are a dedicated language learning community where Tandem members can find like-minded language exchange partners. Practice speaking 180+ languages, including 12 sign languages, by chatting via text, audio messages, and video calling.

Our core value is to unite people across borders through language learning. Languages hold great power for unity, inclusivity, and equality. The community welcomes members from across the globe to practice languages for free.

Tandem Language Exchange is supported by Tandem Fundazioa, the organization that developed the tandem language learning method.

Language exchange
Looking for success and motivation in language learning? Have conversations with native speakers to get used to speaking the language in real life

Why use the Tandem app?

There are many online language exchange platforms out there, why choose Tandem Language Exchange?

1. Human moderated community:

We have a dedicated team of moderators working around the clock to keep the Tandem community safe, fun, and relevant for language learners everywhere. We have also given ourselves three guiding community principles to which we agree upon entering the Tandem community.

2. Language learning features:

The Tandem app has built-in intuitive language tools for translation, pronunciation, transliteration, and corrections to make conversations run smoothly and for your learning to remain uninterrupted.

3. Finding a conversation partner made easy:

With millions of members, we are the largest community for language exchange, so you are sure to find a language exchange partner who matches your language learning goals. Supporting 180+ languages, including 12 sign languages, this potentially results in more than 11,000 language combinations available on the app.

Check out our articles on how to create a perfect profile and Tandem top tips to begin forging a successful language exchange with your Tandem partner.

4. Tandem your way:

Having the opportunity to speak to your Tandem partner via text, voice notes, audio, and video calls means your communication preferences are covered. If you need more learning support, upgrade to Tandem Pro to unlock the ultimate language learning tools.

5. Tandem Tutors:

With Tandem Tutors, you can master your new language even quicker. Our Tutors are certified professionals who offer one-on-one lessons anytime, anywhere. All of our Tutors are handpicked by us for their professionalism, knowledge, and fun factor.

Private lessons with Tandem Tutors makes it easy to find someone who matches your style of learning and works around your schedule.

Connect with native speakers globally and practice any time anywhere, for free!