什么是Tandem语言学习方式?

一个我们最常被问起的问题-什么是Tandem?

Tandem这个英文单字指的是协力车,也就是为两个人设计的单车。这个单字起先和语言学习方式并无直接关系。

但从协力车的概念中,你也大约可以联想到Tandem语言交换的名称意义。协力车需要两人一同合作才能前进,但语言交换学习方式是源自何处呢?

根据剑桥英语字典,Tandem也可以代表两个人或者机器互相辅助。学过外语的人都知道,你几乎不可能不与任何人互动沟通,就能精通流利一门语言。

Tandem学习方式,代表着你和另一人合作,向他学习他的母语,并提供你自己的母语知识作为交换而互惠。借着合作,你们彼此都能更加有效的学习。

其实Tandem并不是一个新发现的学习方式,最早在英国19世纪,当地的教育体系中就出现了“互相合作”的语言教学方式。但直到1960/1970年代,人们才将这种学习概念称作Tandem。

在70年代后期,Jürgen Wolff在马德里组织了德语-西班牙语Tandem学习程序,并研究各个语伴的学习效果。这个组织在欧洲逐渐扩大,并最终发展成为Tandem基金会(Tandem Fundazioa)。

你可以在这里了解更多Tandem基金会的历史。我们也很荣幸能和这历史悠久的基金会合作,让遍布世界各地的语言学习者,都能透过Tandem应用找到语伴。

想要开始试试这个有效的语言学习方式吗? 现在就在app store下载

What’s the story behind Tandem language learning?

It’s a good question, because for many people, a tandem is a ‘bicycle made for two’, rather than a method for learning languages.

The bike gives some hint as to how Tandem language learning got its name. A Tandem bike needs two people to move forward. But where exactly does language learning come in?

According to the Oxford English dictionary, a tandem can also mean “a group of two people or machines working together”. Tandem language allows you to join forces with someone who speaks the language you want to learn, so you can both benefit from each others skills.

If you have tried to learn a language before, you will know that it is almost impossible to speak well without lots of practice. By working together, we can communicate and learn more quickly and effectively.

In fact, learning through language exchange is not a new concept at all. The first mention of a ‘mutual system’ for learning languages was in the UK in the 1800s, but it wasn’t until the late 1960s/early 1970s that the method started to be called ‘Tandem’.

By the end of the 70s, Jürgen Wolff had developed the procedure for organizing individual Spanish-German Tandem partnerships in Madrid. This grew into a networks of schools in Europe, and ultimately to the Tandem Fundazioa (you can read more interesting stuff about the Fundazioa’s history here).

We’re pleased to be working together with the Fundazioa to make Tandem language learning available to everyone – no matter where in the world you live.

Want to give it a try? Download our app on iOS or Android now 🙂

france food

9 French Foodie Phrases To Unleash Your Inner Gourmand

| Culture | No Comments

Feeling peckish? Want to know how to express that in French? Check out these 9 essential French phrases for lovers of France and food alike!

language exchange goals

Native vs. non-native speakers: which is best for language exchange?

| Tandem Tips | No Comments

It is often said that the best way to learn is with a native speaker, and there’s no denying that chatting with native speakers has great advantages. But so does speaking with fluent speakers who aren’t native!

tandem tales

Tandem Tales: On Top Of The World

| Tandem Tales | No Comments

For Samija from Bosnia & Herzegovina and Jenny from Germany, their language exchange led them to meet in person. Samija was able to experience German culture in real life – and had some unforgettable experiences along the way. Here’s their story!