Tandem有故事

Tandem 有故事:Sara和她的五位语伴

PeienApril 18, 2019

”我从没预想过,对文化的了解水平和意识帮助我那么多,借此我认识许多不可思议的人,其中几位甚至成为对我相当重要又知心的好友。“ 这次的Tandem有故事相当特别,因为故事中的女主角Sara,不仅和一位语伴碰面,而是五位呢!

flavia-carpio-770955-unsplash copy

Sara来自美国克里夫兰,但过去十年她长期待在圣地牙哥,因此认圣地亚哥为家。身为英语母语者的Sara,过去一直想增进西班牙语,并探索当中文化,但由于借由传统的方式学习西班牙语,让她对于“使用”这门语言感到不放心,也因她总认为尚未准备好,所以一直不敢使用西班牙语进行沟通。Sara深信”要用一新语言沟通,最实际的方式就是直接和他人对谈,而这就是为什么我加入Tandem。“

Sara的旅程就在她开始计划第一趟离开美国的国外之旅揭开序幕,而她的目的地就是——哥伦比亚!她想见见她的语伴们,以及探索这个国家、食物,以及和语伴聊天时,所提到的传统文化。

旅程的第一站是哥伦比亚的波哥大,她到此处来见朋友Floriberto, Arbey 和 Omar。Sara和Floriberto在Tandem上认识了五个月,并且在她抵达哥伦比亚的的期间碰了两次面。Floriberto带Sara尝试地地道道的哥伦比亚美食,一起在城市闲逛,他甚至还带Sara认识他的朋友。

接着,Sara和在Tandem上认识四个多月的Arbey和他的家人碰面。”他们热情地带我参观这个城市和他们的文化,的确让这趟旅程更加兴奋。“隔天,Sara和Omar前往蒙塞拉特山一起攻顶,在这,Omar介绍Sara认识他的朋友和前同事们。”虽然这趟登顶路程挺漫长,但能有这个机会一看波哥大的美景以及认识那么多美妙的人,真的很值得。“

tandem-tales sara copy

拜访完波哥大之后,Sara下个目的地来到了麦德林。在这,她和另一位Tandem好友Javier碰面。”在我第一天加入Tandem,Javier和我就开始聊天,事实上,他是第一位传信息给我的人。而自从那天之后,我们每天都会聊天练习。”

他们一起探索麦德林这座城市,“我们一起爬瓜塔佩巨岩(El Piedra del Peñol),然后听着传统音乐一起乘船到附近的河,接着还去了瓜塔佩小镇看那美丽被称之为的zócalos的三维绘画。”后来,Sara更和Javier的家人碰面,并且更来一段即兴的双语Karaoke呢!

下一趟旅程把Sara带到哥伦比亚的加勒比海岸,圣玛尔塔。她来此处和一位Tandem新朋友Reny碰面。他们在这座城市漫游,也一起去海边享受悠闲时光,而到圣玛尔塔时,Sara这趟哥伦比亚旅程已经过一半,所以她在返回麦德林之前,还在海边享受一些舒缓筋骨的芳疗按摩。

Guatape copy

回到麦德林后,Sara见了另一位Tandem语伴Diego。”我们在阿尔维公园(Parque Arví)待上一整天,建行、拜访一些古老的地标、共进午餐,最后还搭了缆车呢。“隔天,Sara再次和Javier碰面,他们一起参加麦德林郊区的咖啡之旅。”我们在山上的农场(Finca)待上一天,学到咖啡的生长过程、如何耕种,以及如何从水果变成我们所熟悉的咖啡豆。我们也体验咖啡品尝和咖啡料理,然后坐在马背上一览这个区域。“在这趟农庄指吕后,他们返回市区,花了点时间和Javier的家人相处,”我会深深记得Javier和他的家人如何慷慨友善的接待我。“

经过一段小飞行,Sara飞回这档旅程的起点—波哥大。这次Sara享受一点自我的时间,独自参观几座博物馆,并漫步到波哥大的旧城区坎德拉里亚(La Candelaria)。随后她与另一位Tandem语伴Cesar共进午餐,并参观一些景点,像是尔巴德利亚大厦(Torre Colpatria)和奥拉亚埃雷拉公园(Parque Nacional Enrique Olaya Herrera)。在旅程的最后一天,她和Floriberto以及他的朋友Alejandro见面。”我们共进一餐以及不错的咖啡,也在城市中闲逛,一起练习英语和西班牙语。他们还帮我找了些伴手礼,好让我能带回给圣地牙哥的朋友。“不久后,他就得回到波哥大机场,启程返回美国了。

View from Piedra del Penol (1)

”学习新语言打开了那扇通往新体验和认识新朋友的大门。“Sara后来发现了,学习语言从来不是直线前;“有好几个星期我觉得我进步许多,但也有许多时候我发现我正在退步而不是进步。但那几星期过很快,现在觉得我已经持续进步了呢。”

对于认识那么多Tandem语伴还拥有那么棒的体验,Sara的建议是:保持开放的心态、经常开口询问,并且抱持正面心态的进行交流*。当我们学习新语言时,常常会在“母语转换、翻译”之间发生问题,想说的话就卡在脑中,不知怎么说出口或者很直接地从我们的母语翻译出去。但我们没注意到的是,说出口的字字句句中都包含许多言外之意甚至是情绪。如果我一开始就因为这些小字句为对方下定论,而不再次开口询问确认的话,我可错失了认识许多好友的机会。“ (*:在语言交换时,常因文化以及语言不同造成误解,有些用词在不同文化背景有不同意思,所以保持正面心态,并且询问对方真正想表达的意思很重要喔!)

“在哥伦比亚的那两个星期,是我此生最棒的时光 […] 让这旅程那么美好的原因是因为和我的语伴们见面,并且和一起参观他们的国家。比这更棒的事,我们一起分享了许多美好时光、共享许多回忆。”

你是不是被Sara的Tandem故事激励了呢? 立马下载Tandem,创造你的Tandem有故事吧!

你或许也喜欢…

Tandem tales

Tandem Tales: Five Tandem Friends

Muireann ClarkeApril 18, 20194-min read

“I never expected that my cultural competency and awareness would increase by many orders of magnitude and that I would meet really, really incredible people, some of whom would become important and valued friends.” This Tandem Tale is a very special one because Sara did not only meet one language exchange partner but five!

The Tandem app is not only for those on a language learning journey but also for those brave nomads and travelers out there. Speak the language of the locals and meet new people in the country you are traveling to. Download the Tandem app now to connect with people all across the world!

flavia-carpio-770955-unsplash copy

Originally from Cleveland USA, Sara has called San Diego USA home for the past ten years. As a native English speaker, Sara wanted to explore the Spanish language and culture but felt completely unprepared to have a real conversation with others by using traditional methods of learning a language. “The only way to learn to converse in a language was to actually talk to other people… that’s where Tandem came in.”

Sara’s journey began when she planned her first international trip outside of the United States to…Colombia! Sara wanted to meet up with her Tandem partners and see for herself all the places, foods, and traditions her friends had shared with her in their conversations.

The first leg of her journey was to Bogotá, Colombia to visit her friends Floriberto, Arbey and Omar. Sara and Floriberto had been talking on Tandem for about five months and met up twice during her stay in Colombia. Floriberto took Sara to try the most authentic Colombian cuisine in the city, wandered the city together and he also introduced Sara to some of his friends.

Sara then met up with Arbey and his family who she had been in contact with for four months on Tandem. “Their enthusiasm for sharing with me their city and their culture was so palpable and made every sight that much more exciting.” The following day, Sara climbed to the top of Monserrate with Omar where he introduced Sara to his friends and former coworkers. “It was a long climb, but so worth it for the incredible views of Bogotá and the opportunity to meet so many incredible people.”

tandem-tales sara copy

After Sara’s adventure to Bogotá, it was on to the next leg of her journey, which was to the city of Medellín. There she met her Tandem friend Javier. “Javier and I began talking on my very first day on Tandem, in fact, he was one of the first people to message me right after I joined, and we have talked almost every single day since that first day.” Herself and Javier explored Medellín; ”we climbed El Piedra del Peñol together and took a boat ride accompanied by traditional music on the lakes nearby, and then visited the town of Guatape to see the beautiful Zócalos on all the houses.” Sara met Javier’s family and they even had an impromptu bilingual karaoke session together!

Sara’s next adventure took her to Colombia’s Caribbean coast, Santa Marta, to visit her friend Reny, one of Sara’s newer language exchange partners. They explored the city and beaches together and since Santa Marta marked the halfway point of her trip, Sara enjoyed some well-needed relaxation on the beach, before heading back to Medellín.

Guatape copy

Back in Medellín, Sara met up with yet another Tandem friend, Diego. “We spent the day at Parque Arví, hiking, visiting archaeological sites, having lunch, and riding the metro cable.” The next day Sara met up with Javier again and went on a coffee tour outside of Medellín. “We spent a day at a Finca (a farm) in the mountains, learning how coffee is grown, cultivated, harvested, and transformed from fruit to the bean we’re all familiar with. We also had a coffee tasting and lunch and took a tour on horseback of the area.” After the tour of the Finca, they traveled back into the city and spent some more time with Javier’s family. “I will never forget the generosity and hospitality of Javier and his family, in opening their home and their lives to me.”

After a quick flight, Sara was back where she started her adventure — Bogotá. This time Sara did a bit of sightseeing on her own, visited a few museums and wandered through Bogotá’s historical district, La Candelaria. She then met up with another Tandem partner Cesar, had lunch together and saw some new sights including Torre Colpatria and Parque Nacional Enrique Olaya Herrera. The last day of her trip was spent with Floriberto and his friend, Alejandro. “We shared a meal and some good coffee together, and wandered through the city, talking and practicing our English and Spanish together. They also helped me to find souvenirs to take back to my friends in San Diego.” Soon it was time to return to Bogotá airport and begin her journey back to the States.

View from Piedra del Penol (1)

“Learning a new language can open doors to new experiences and bring incredible new people into your life.” Sara has learned that learning a language is never a linear process; “I have weeks where I feel like I am making lots of progress and weeks where I feel like I’m actually regressing instead of progressing. But those weeks always pass, and then I continue to make progress.”

Sara’s tips on having a great experience with a Tandem partner is to always keep an open mind, to always ask questions and to give them the benefit of the doubt. “Sometimes the things we say, when we are learning a language can get ‘lost in translation’ so to speak. We often don’t realize the connotations or even emotions that are tied up into the words we speak. I would have missed out on making incredible friends if I had jumped to conclusions early on and not asked for clarification.”

“My time in Colombia was the best two weeks of my life […] and, truly, what made it was the opportunity to meet all of my friends and to experience their country and their cities with them. Everything that we shared together was twice as wonderful for that reason — because we shared it together.”

Inspired by Sara’s Tandem Tale? Download the Tandem app today and make some new Tandem friends!

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE…