線上學德文

就在今年流利說德文

你應該聽過許多人說,學德文不簡單、最困難的語言是德文。事實真的是如此嗎?在德文學習的路上,其中一項棘手的任務就是名詞,每個名詞都有不同性別,並且需要遵守無數種德文文法規則。當你以為自己快要弄清楚德文名詞的性別及文法規則,以為自己快要搞懂德語這門語言時,又有另一個文法規則突然闖進你的學習路程,戳破你的夢想泡泡。

雖然許多關於德語「惡名昭彰」的說法,只要給自己一點耐心,你會漸漸地發現德文充滿許多獨特的特點以及詩情畫意的描述用法,這也因此讓許多熱愛語言的學習者為德文癡迷。

Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

講到德文,人們理所當然地會想到這是德國的官方語言。據估計,德文母語者有大約1.05億人,此外,仍有約8千萬人口將德語作為第二語言。

德國想當然就是最大的德語使用國家,不過在奧地利和瑞士這兩個國家,也承擔德語的形式,演變成德語的變體和方言,也就是瑞士德語 (Schweizerdeutsch)和奧地利德語 (Österreichisches Deutsch)。

標準德文高地德文就如同名稱,為標準的德文,廣泛用在政府機關、高等教育、文學領域、德國的大宗媒體,此外也是語言學習者在學習德文時,也是學習標準德語。

不過學習德文並沒有規定一定得從標準德語或者方言學起,在Tandem app上,你能輕鬆找到來自德國、奧地利或者瑞士的語言交換對象,這能幫助你學習一門語言的不同面向。

為什麼學德文?

精通德語就有如學習其他外語一樣棘手,但相對來說,學習德語帶來的回報遠超過於學習路程上所遇到的困難。以下我們要告訴你為什麼應該學習德語:

1. 你認識的德文單字或許比你想像的還要多。 德語和英語同屬印歐語系下的日耳曼語族。所以當你看到一些單字時,你會發現德文單字的拼法或者發音和英語相當接近,例如Bruder (brother), Wasser (water), 和Vater (father)。

所以,理論上來說,如果你對英文相當熟悉的話,在學習德文會容易許多。

2. Das Land der Dichter und Denker — 詩人和思想家的國度。 德國出了許多著名的哲學家,這些哲學家指導西方哲學的方向,著名的哲學家有康德、馬克思和海德格爾。

音樂領域上,德語是世界上著名古典音樂作曲家的語言,包含巴哈和貝多芬,他們兩位是西方古典樂中至關重要的音樂家。

3. 德國在全球的經濟扮演相當重要的角色。 德國在2017年的經濟總量為3.7萬億美元,為全球第四大經濟體,前三則為中國、美國和日本。

德國首都城市柏林更是孕育新創公司的搖籃,甚至被譽為「歐洲矽谷」。因此,如果會說德語,有可能幫助提升就業機會。

4. 拓寬世界視野。旅行是學習任何外語的最好動機之一。 學會德文,將能幫助你到許多國家旅行時暢行無阻,如德國、瑞士、奧地利,甚至是有眾多德文人口使用的東歐。

Tandem 除了能幫助你找到語言交換對象之外,也能幫你縮小範圍,找到特定地區的夥伴,例如德國。這能幫助你了解更接近當地的民俗風情,以及必看的風景,甚至是只有當地人才知道的祕密景觀。

德文文法學習

德文是門美麗的語言 — 奇特並含有詩意的文字。

德文是門美麗的語言 — 奇特並含有詩意的文字。 許多德文單字找不到直接翻譯的方式,舉例來說Schadenfreude,這個單字的意思為「從別人的不幸中獲得到的幸福」。複合名詞也是德文這門語言的商標,一個詞加上另一個詞就變成一個新的單字。不過要注意,這種單字可以長的很荒謬,也容易成為讓你捧腹大笑好幾小時的笑話。

在深入看有哪些有趣的德文複合名詞之前,我們先來看看實在的東西,德文文法!

德文時態

德文有六個時態:Präsens(現在式),Perfekt(現在完成式),Präteritum(簡單過去式),Plusquamperfekt(過去完成式),Futur I(未來一式)和Futur II(未來二式)。在德文中,當涉及到不同時態的強、弱動詞時,這些時態很重要。以下以動詞gehen(去)為例,介紹強(不規則)動詞的變化:

時態 德文 英文
現在式 Ich gehe I go
完成式 Ich bin gegangen I went / I have gone
簡單過去式 Ich ging I went
過去完成式 Ich war gegangen I had gone
未來一式 Ich werde gehen I will go
未來二式 Ich werde gegangen sein I will be gone

而在德文之中,每個名詞也都有特定的性別,分別有陽性陰性中性。當你認識一個新單字的時候,順勢把性別記下來是相當重要的。雖然很多人說過德文單字的性別很複雜,但幸運的是,有一些簡單又好記的規則可以幫助你分辨單字性別,所以學起來會很有幫助。雖然這樣說,但有時候還是有些特殊案例,要格外注意。

你可以藉由每個德文名詞前的定冠詞來分別每個名詞的性別。定冠詞就是在英文中的”the”,而在德文則是der(陽性)die(陰性)das(中性)。和英文一樣,德文也有不定冠詞,就是在英文中的”a”或”an”:ein(陽性)eine(陰性)和ein(中性)

不確定名詞的性別嗎?不如在app上找個Tandem夥伴問問他吧!

德文四格

在德文文法中的德文四格分別為nominative, accusative, dative 和 gentive,這四個位格讓德文學習又加上難度。不過別太擔心,只要你能理解這些位格的區別,並知道要在何時使用,那麼你離流利德文的距離就不遠了。

man reading library
掌握德文文法需要時間和練習
  • 首先,Nominativ為主格,是名詞基本的形式,並且用於名詞為整個句子的主語,也就是「誰」或「什麼」在進行動作。我們都喜歡這個位格,因為不管是冠詞或是定冠詞出現在這個位格時,只需要保持原本的詞性,不需多做變化。

  • Accusative為賓格,是用在「事物」或「人」受到動詞的直接動作影響,意思就是直接受詞。有些特定的動詞或者介系詞後方一定要接Accusative(賓格),無論是不是直接受詞。

  • Dative為與格,是用在「事物」或「人」,受到動詞的間接動作影響,也就是間接受詞。與Accusative相近,特定的動詞或者介系詞後方一定要接Dative(與格),無論是不是直接受詞。

  • Genitive為屬格,表示所有格。在德文中,若要表達屬格,只需要在任何名詞後面直接加上-s或-es。在某些特定動詞和介系詞後方,一定要加上屬格,不管名詞是不是被「擁有」。

詞態變化

德文中的定冠詞(der,die,das)不定冠詞(ein,eine,ein) 並不和英文一樣,他們隨著名詞的性別、數量有所變化

以下的表格介紹德文中的定冠詞和不定冠詞如何根據名詞性別和數量而變化。

陽性 陰性 中性 複數
Nominativ 主格 der
ein
die
eine
das
ein
die
-
Accusativ 賓格 den
einen
die
eine
das
ein
die
-
Dativ 屬格 dem
einem
der
einer
dem
einem
den
-
Genitiv 屬格 des
eines
der
einer
des
eines
der
-

需要我們的建議嗎?把這張表格背起來。這是幫助你熟悉德文正確文法以及冠詞的第一步。如果你遇到困難,就到Tandem上找德文母語者,讓他們幫助你吧!

發音和基本德文句子

當你開始學習德語時,你將得面對快速學習德文字母表的問題。德文字母表包含26個字母,就如同英文,不過還另外包含三個元音(ä、ö、ü) 和一個稱為scharfes S或Eszett(ß) 的連接字母。

說實話,關於德文的發音,我們可以說上好幾天。與其這麼做,我們覺得帶你快速了解這三個元音(ä、ö、ü)的發音或許更有用。

"ä"這個音有兩個變化,分別是長音和短音。短音的ä發音像是“eh”,如Äpfel(蘋果)。長音ä則是“ay”,如Mädchen(女孩)。對於英文母語者來說,"Ü"則是有點困難,這個音和"ö"相近。差別在於ü聽起來更像是“ooh”,如Müll。至於ö則更像“uhh”,如Öffnen。



一但你把上述的表格還有發音搞清楚,那麼我們相信你已經準備好要學習基本的德文單字和句子。那麼我們一起來看看接下來的內容:

Hallo!
Hello!
Wie geht’s?
你好嗎?
Mir geht’s gut
我很好
Freut mich, Sie kennenzulernen!
很高興認識你!
Vielen Dank
謝謝
Bitte schön!
不客氣!
Wie heißen Sie?
您叫什麼名字?
Ich heiße…
我叫...
Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!
生日快樂!
Willkommen!
歡迎!
Es tut mir leid.
對不起
Tschüss!
掰掰!
Bis später!
待會見!
Woher kommen Sie?
您來自哪裡?
Ich komme aus England
我來自英國

學習德文的資源

評估你是什麼樣的學習者,並找到合適的資源。

評估你是什麼樣的學習者,並找到合適的資源。你是圖像學習者,並且認為藉由圖片或影片你可以學習的更有效率?或許對你來說,聽單字的發音並跟著複誦是最重要的。或者你比較喜歡進行書寫練習?了解哪種學習方式對自己最合適是第一步,才能充分利用網路上的有效資源幫助學習。

德文初學者的學習資源

  • 每個初學者都需要一個線上字典。 LEO LEO擁有多達九種語言對照德文的字典。你可以搜尋不同語言,聆聽音檔發音,並且查看內建的動詞變化對照表!

  • Living Language German完整版能夠對於你的德文文法提供相當大的幫助。當中包含三本教科書以及九個音檔CD,課程內容包含從初學者簡單的主題到更進階的德文文法。

進階德文學習的資源

  • 如果你是需要配合聲音學習的學習者,那麼正在熱頭上的podcast最能幫助你。 我們先前已經整理一篇文章,當中包含推薦給語言學習者的免費podcasts。對於德文學習者的話,一定要試試看Deutsche Welle或Easy German。

  • Apps、 apps、更多的apps! 在各個app市場上,你可以找到許多學習德文的apps。然而,這些線上學習資源通常缺少的是和母語使用者練習語言的機會。

這就是Tandem存在的意義。在Tandem上,你可以輕鬆找到夥伴,進行德文語言交換。我們的線上社群擁有超過百萬的使用者,你可以找到擁有共同興趣的夥伴,確保你的語言交換學習之旅有趣並且有動力前進。

Coffee place
想要成功並找尋學習語言的動力嗎?和母語人士來場對談,並將『語言學習』融入日常生活中

這就是Tandem存在的意義。在Tandem app上,你可以輕鬆找到夥伴,進行德文語言交換。我們的線上社群擁有超過百萬的使用者,你可以找到擁有共同興趣的夥伴,確保你的語言交換學習之旅有趣並且有動力前進。

  1. 現在就綁定Facebook、Google或你的email加入Tandem。
  2. 建立個人檔案,選擇想練習的任一語言,並且分享你最感興趣的聊天話題。
  3. 發送文字訊息或者和德文母語者進行視訊,都在app中直接進行!在母語和練習語言之間分配時間,一半時間用德文,另一半時間用中文。
藉由和母語人士聊天,學習流利地說德文!

Learn German Online

Let this be the year you master German

Learning the German language is no easy task — every noun has a different gender, requiring a myriad of different rules to follow and just when you were finally getting your head around it, another exception bursts your language bubble.

It might be difficult, however, once you show it some patience, you will see how the language is riddled with quirky traits and poetic descriptions, making German a fascinating experience for language lovers.

Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

It's natural to think that the German language is purely spoken in Germany. It is estimated that around 105 million people around the world speak Deutsch as a native language, with an additional 80 million people speaking it as a second language.

Germany is indeed the largest German-speaking country, however, Austria and Switzerland take on a German language variation and dialect in the form of Swiss-German (Schweizerdeutsch) and Austrian German (Österreichisches Deutsch).

Standarddeutsch or Hochdeutsch is the standardized variety of the language used for administration, higher education, literature, and the mass media in Germany, and is normally the German taught to language learners.

With the Tandem app, you can find a language exchange partner in Germany, Austria, or Switzerland and learn whichever variety of the language you would like.

Why Learn the German Language?

Mastering the German language can indeed be tricky, as with any foreign language, but what greatly outweighs its trouble is the incredible rewards it brings. Here’s why we think you should learn it:

1. You might know more than you realize. German and English both belong to the Germanic branch of the Indo-European language family. This is evident when looking at certain words that only have some minor spelling or pronunciation differences such as Bruder (brother), Wasser (water), and Vater (father).

This, in theory, makes German easier to learn if you have a good command of the English language.

2. Das Land der Dichter und Denker — the land of poets and thinkers. German philosophers have helped shape western philosophy with names such as Kant, Marx, and Heidegger.

In the field of music, German was the language of some of the world's most renowned classical composers, including Bach and Beethoven, who were crucial figures in classical Western music.

3. Germany is an economic powerhouse. Germany has an economy of 3.7 trillion USD (2017), making it the fourth-largest economy worldwide, after China, the United States, and Japan.

Germany’s capital city Berlin is a hub for innovative startups and is even dubbed the “Silicon Valley of Europe.” Consequently, being able to speak German has the potential to enhance your career opportunities.

4. Experience the world. Traveling is one of the best reasons to learn any foreign language. Knowledge of the German language opens up opportunities to travel to Germany, Switzerland, and Austria, as well as Eastern Europe, where German is widely spoken.

Find a Tandem partner in Germany and get the inside scoop on all the must-see attractions and hidden gems the country has to offer.

German Grammar Learning

German is a beautiful language — quirky and also strangely poetic with words

German is a beautiful language — quirky and also strangely poetic with words. Many words exist in German that do not have a direct translation, one of which is Schadenfreude. This word relates to “the happiness derived from somebody else’s misfortune.” Compound nouns are also a trademark of the German language — words being joined together to make new words. Beware, however… these words can get ridiculously long and oftentimes provide hours of great entertainment.

Before we get distracted by going through the funnest German compound nouns, let’s get down to the good stuff — German grammar!

German Tenses

German has six tenses: Präsens (present), Perfekt (present perfect), Präteritum (simple past), Plusquamperfekt (past perfect), Futur I (future) and Futur II (future perfect). This is important to know when it comes to conjugating strong and weak verbs in German for the different tenses. Here’s an example of how to conjugate the verb gehen (to go), which is a strong (irregular) verb:

Tense German English
Präsens Ich gehe I go
Perfekt Ich bin gegangen I went / I have gone
Präteritum Ich ging I went
Plusquamperfekt Ich war gegangen I had gone
Futur I Ich werde gehen I will go
Futur II Ich werde gegangen sein I will be gone

In German, every noun has a specific gender; masculine, feminine, or neutral. When learning new vocabulary, it is also important to learn the noun’s gender. Luckily, there are some rules to help you recognize the different genders, which are very useful to learn, however, there may be some exceptions.

The gender of German nouns can be determined by looking at the article preceding it. The definite articles, meaning “the” in English, are der (masculine), die (feminine), and das (neutral). These also have an indefinite equivalent meaning “a” or “an” in English; ein (masculine), eine (feminine), and ein (neutral).

Unsure of the gender of a noun? Find a Tandem partner on our app and simply ask them!

The 4 German Cases

The four cases in German grammar (nominative, accusative, dative, and gentive) are definitely an added complexity. Rest be assured that once you’ve navigated the difference between the cases, and understand when they’re used, you’re well on your way to fluency in German.

man reading library
Grasping the German grammar takes some time and patience
  • The nominative case is the basic form of a noun and is used for nouns that are the subject of a sentence — the “who” or “what” is performing the action. We like this case because the article appears in its standard form and does not change.
  • The accusative case is used for the “thing” or “person” receiving the direct action of a verb — the direct object. The accusative case also follows certain verbs and prepositions no matter if it relates to the direct object or not.
  • The dative case is used for the “person” or “thing” receiving the indirect action of a verb — the indirect object. Similar to the accusative case, the dative case also follows certain verbs and prepositions no matter if it relates to the indirect object or not.
  • The genitive case indicates possession. To mark the genitive case, an -s or -es is added to nouns in German grammar. Certain verbs and prepositions also follow the genitive case no matter if it relates to possession or not.

Declensions

Definite articles (der, die, das) and indefinite articles (ein, eine, ein) in German don’t behave exactly like they do in English. They are declined differently depending on the gender, the number, and the case of the corresponding noun.

The table below shows how definite and indefinite articles in German change depending on the case and the gender of the noun.

Masculine Feminine Neutral Plural
Nominative der
ein
die
eine
das
ein
die
-
Accusative den
einen
die
eine
das
ein
die
-
Dative dem
einem
der
einer
dem
einem
den
-
Genitive des
eines
der
einer
des
eines
der
-

Want our advice? Learn this table off by heart. It’s the first step to using the correct article. If you’re struggling, find a native German speaker on Tandem and ask them to guide you through it!

Pronunciation and Basic German Phrases

When you start learning German, you’re going to be faced with having to learn the German alphabet pretty quickly. The German alphabet consists of 26 letters, like in English, but also contains three vowels with umlauts (ä, ö, ü) and one ligature called a scharfes S or Eszett (ß).

We could talk about German pronunciation for days, literally. So instead of that, we’ll give you a quick rundown of how the trickier letters with umlauts (ä, ü, ö) should sound.

There are two variations of the "ä" sound — long and short. The short ä is pronounced like “eh,” as in Äpfel (apple). The long ä is pronounced like “ay,” as in Mädchen (girl). "Ü" is slightly more difficult to pronounce for native English speakers and is quite similar to the "ö" sound. The difference is that ü sounds more like “ooh,” as in Müll, and ö like “uhh,” as in Öffnen.



Once that’s covered, you’re ready to start learning a few basic German words and phrases. Take a look at some of them below:

Hallo!
Hello!
Wie geht’s?
How are you?
Mir geht’s gut
I’m doing well
Freut mich, Sie kennenzulernen!
Nice to meet you!
Vielen Dank
Thank you very much
Bitte schön!
You’re welcome!
Wie heißen Sie?
What’s your name?
Ich heiße…
My name is…
Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!
Happy Birthday!
Willkommen!
Welcome!
Es tut mir leid
I'm sorry
Tschüss!
Bye!
Bis später!
See you later!
Woher kommen Sie?
Where do you come from?
Ich komme aus England
I come from England

Resources for Learning German

Finding the right resources depends on what type of learner you are

Finding the right resources depends on what type of learner you are. Are you a visual learner, who learns most effectively with pictures and videos? Maybe it’s more important for you to listen to words and then repeat them. Or do you prefer to complete written exercises? Figuring out how you learn best is the first step to making the most of all the resources available to you online.

Resources for Beginner German Learners

  • Every beginner needs their go-to online dictionary. LEO is a pretty safe bet with 9 language pairs for German. You can search in either language, listen to the pronunciation with the audio snippets, and take a look at the built-in verb conjugation tables, too!

  • Living Language German, Complete Edition is a great overall resource for all your German grammar needs. With 3 coursebooks and 9 audio CDs, it guides you from easier topics for beginners right through to the more advanced aspects of German grammar.

Resources for Intermediate German Learners

  • For the audio learners out there - podcasts are all the rage right now. So much so, we’ve actually written a whole blog article on the top free podcasts for language learners. For German language learners, check out Deutsche Welle or Easy German.

  • Apps, apps, and more apps! There are plenty of apps for learning German. Yet, what’s often lacking from online learning is a way to have real conversations with native speakers of your target language.

Coffee place
Looking for success and motivation in language learning? Have conversations with native speakers to get used to speaking the language in real life

That’s exactly where the Tandem app comes in. With Tandem, it’s so easy to find German language exchange partners to chat with. With millions of members in the online community, you’re bound to find someone with similar interests to you, ensuring your language learning remains fun and motivating.

  1. Sign up with Facebook, Google, or your email address.
  2. Create a profile, choose which language(s) you want to learn, and share what topics of conversation interest you the most.
  3. Chat or video call with German native speakers - directly in the app! Split your time between the two languages; half of the conversation in German and the other half in English.
Learn to speak German fluently by chatting with native speakers!