Изучение языка

Как написать письмо на английском языке

Veronica Panna26 октября 2020 г.3 мин. на чтение

Какой язык ты хочешь изучать?

enанглийский
esиспанский
frфранцузский
deнемецкий
itитальянский
ptпортугальский
ruрусский
jaяпонский
zhкитайский
koкорейский
другой

Электронной почтой как средством коммуникации пользуются миллионы людей во всем мире. И не зря! Во-первых, информация передается мгновенно. Во-вторых, ты можешь общаться с людьми и компаниями не только в своей стране, но и за ее пределами. Чтобы составить сильный, понятный и эффективный email, необходимо развить навыки письменной речи. Они помогут получить работу за рубежом, поступить в университет, завести и поддерживать отношения с друзьями-иностранцами — и это далеко не полный список. В этой статье мы предлагаем полезные советы по написанию идеального письма на английском языке!

Изучаешь немецкий? В одном из постов мы рассказываем, как писать электронные письма на немецком языке.

Общие советы по написанию писем на английском

Не забудь про тему!

Тема письма — первое, что видит твой адресат. Хорошая тема содержит однозначный посыл, обозначает содержание письма или то, по какой причине оно было написано. И все это нужно донести через минимум слов, чтобы сразу привлечь внимание собеседника. Если тема прописана смутно или отсутствует вовсе, получатель может удалить письмо, даже не открывая!

Стиль и тон

Предложения в письме на английском языке всегда понятные и короткие. Разбей текст на абзацы так, чтобы в каждом обсуждался только один вопрос. Письмо будет проще читать, ведь оно станет менее перегруженным. Часто при цифровой коммуникации есть риск не понять собеседника, но четкость подачи поможет этого избежать. Тон делового письма должен быть вежливым, тактичным и учтивым. В конце концов, человек тратит на твое сообщение собственное время.

Подпись

В формальной и деловой переписке очень полезна личная подпись с важной для получателя информацией. А еще она заметно поднимет твой профессионализм в глазах читателя! В подписи можно указать имя и фамилию, должность и ссылки — например, на личный вебсайт, сайт компании и твой профиль в LinkedIn.

Семь раз проверь, один раз отправь!

Дважды, нет, трижды вычитай электронное письмо на предмет опечаток, грамматических и пунктуационных ошибок. Их несложно пропустить, даже когда пишешь на родном языке! Если связываешься с университетом или потенциальным работодателем, важно убедиться в абсолютной безупречности письма. Ты же не хочешь создать образ непрофессионального или просто небрежного человека? Здесь очень пригодятся специальные программы для проверки орфографии или помощь носителя английского языка. А еще обязательно посмотри, правильно ли написаны адреса всех получателей!

email notification on phone

Как написать идеальный email на английском языке

Вкратце, структура электронного письма на английском выглядит следующим образом:

  • Приветствие
  • Small talk (необязательно)
  • Вступление
  • Основная часть
  • Заключение

Приветствие

В рамках неформального общения, когда ты хорошо знаешь человека, письмо может начинаться простым «Hey [имя]» или «Hi [имя]» (Привет, …).

В формальных или деловых письмах на английском языке нужно использовать приветствие «Dear [обращение] [фамилия]» (Уважаемый …) или «Hello [обращение] [фамилия]» (Здравствуйте, …). Например, «Dear Mr. Smith» (Уважаемый г-н Смит).

Важно: Сразу после имени или фамилии получателя в таких приветствиях нужна запятая.

Если ты не знаешь имени адресата, используй «To Whom It May Concern:» (буквально «тем, кого это касается»). Обрати внимание, что все слова в этой фразе пишутся с заглавной буквы и в конце ставится двоеточие.

Small talk

Small talk — это короткий разговор на общие темы. Обычно он уместен в переписке с хорошим знакомым, особенно в неформальном общении. Эта часть выстаивается сразу после приветствия либо перед заключением. В качестве примеров можем привести вопросы о семье, общем друге или хобби, которое вас объединяет.

Вступление

Если пишешь кому-то впервые, лучше четко указать причину. Она должна соответствовать теме письма. Сначала можно кратко представиться, а затем воспользоваться, например, одной из следующих фраз: «I am writing with regard to…» (Я пишу по поводу…), «I am writing to let you know…» (Я пишу, чтобы вам сообщить о…), «I am writing in response to…» (Я пишу в ответ на…).

Основная часть

Не существует единой формулы для основной части, потому что ее содержание целиком зависит от обстоятельств. Здесь важно не растягивать предложения, понятно доносить содержание и делить текст на абзацы.

Заключение

Правильное заключение основано на том, какое действие, по-твоему, должен предпринять получатель письма. Это может быть «I look forward to hearing from you soon» (Я нетерпением жду вашего ответа), «Thank you in advance» (Заранее спасибо) или «For further information, please do not hesitate to contact me» (Не стесняйтесь обращаться ко мне за подробностями). Затем на отдельной строке следует написать «Best regards», «Kind regards» (С наилучшими пожеланиями) или «Yours sincerely» (Искренне ваш), и еще ниже — свои имя и фамилию.

Для неформальных писем правил поменьше. В этом случае подходят фразы «Thanks» (Спасибо), «See you soon!» (До скорого!) или даже короткое предложение, вроде «I’m really looking forward to meeting you in person» (Мне не терпится познакомиться вживую). Подписаться можно просто именем, без фамилии.

Вот и все секреты идеального электронного письма на английском языке. И еще раз напомним: внимательно проверяй текст перед отправкой!

Общайся с носителями языка со всего мира и изучай иностранный язык – бесплатно!

Language

How To Write an Email in English

M.C.September 22, 20204-min read

What language do you want to practice?

enEnglish
esSpanish
frFrench
deGerman
itItalian
ptPortuguese
ruRussian
jaJapanese
zhChinese
koKorean
Other

Emails are among the most commonly used means of communication in the world… and for good reason! They’re an immediate way to share information, and allow you to interact with people and businesses both within and beyond your country’s borders. Good writing skills are vital for writing a strong, clear, and actionable email in English. It can help you get that job abroad, get accepted into a university, and make and maintain international friendships, to name but a few. Continue reading for useful tips about email writing in English and how to write a perfect email in English!

Are you also learning German? Check out our article on how to write an email in German.

General Tips for How to Write an Email in English

Use the subject line!

The subject line is the first point of contact the recipients of your email will have to your email. To write a good subject line, you need to give a clear and precise message, indicating the content of the email or reason for writing. This should be done in as few words as possible so as to grab the attention of the reader. Having an inaccurate or unclear subject line or not having one at all could push the recipient to delete it without even opening it!

Style and tone

Writing an email in English requires clear and short sentences. Break up the content into paragraphs with each paragraph discussing a different topic. This makes the email a lot easier to read, less overwhelming, and reduces the risk of miscommunication which is typical of any form of online communication. For a business email, the tone should also be polite, respectful, and courteous—they are taking time out of their day to read your email and respond to you after all.

Signature

Particularly for formal and professional emails, having a personal signature at the end of your email that includes relevant information to the recipient can be super useful. Not only that but it makes you come across as being very professional yourself! This information can include your name and surname, job title, and link to your personal or company website and to your LinkedIn profile, for example.

Proofread, proofread, proofread!

Make sure you double and triple check your email for typos, grammatical errors, spelling and punctuation mistakes. It’s easy to make these mistakes even in your own language! If you are contacting a university or future employer you want to make sure your email is absolutely flawless otherwise it can give the impression that you are unprofessional and rather careless. Having a spell checking tool will help a lot here, or if possible, get a native English speaker to check it for you. Don’t forget to also double-check email addresses for all recipients!

email notification on phone

How To Write a Perfect Email in English

In short, the structure of an email in English is the following:

  • Greeting
  • Smalltalk (optional)
  • Introduction
  • Body of text
  • Closing

Greeting

In an informal email, where you know the person quite well, you can just open your email with a simple “Hey [First Name]” or “Hi [First Name].”

For a formal or professional email in English, you want to use “Dear [Title] [Surname]” or “Hello [Title] [Surname].” For example, “Dear Mr. Smith.”

Important: Directly after the above greetings, you want to use a comma (,) after their name.

If you don’t know the name of the person to whom you are writing, you can just use “To Whom It May Concern:.” Note that the entire phrase is capitalized, then followed by a colon.

Small talk

This is usually only appropriate to include when you know the person to whom you are writing, usually in an informal email. This can either go after the greeting or just before the closing. Examples of small talk can include asking about the person’s family, a mutual friend, or an activity that you have in common.

Introduction

If you are writing to someone for the first time, you want to clearly indicate the reason for writing. This should be consistent with the subject line of the email. You can start off by introducing yourself briefly and then follow on with “I am writing with regard to…,” I am writing to let you know…,” or I am writing in response to…,” for example.

Body of text

There is no formula for writing the body of the text as this varies according to the context of the email. It’s important to keep clear and short sentences here and to divide the body of text into several paragraphs.

Closing

Choosing the most appropriate closing for a professional email depends on the action you wish the recipient to take. This can be, for example, “I look forward to hearing from you soon,” “Thank you in advance,” or “For further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.” This should then be followed by “Best regards,” “Kind regards,” or “Yours sincerely” on a separate line with your signature (first and last name) directly below.

There are less guidelines to follow with informal emails with appropriate closings including “Thanks,” “See you soon!” or even a brief sentence like “I’m really looking forward to meeting you in person.” You can then just sign off with your first name.

So, there you have it! Everything you need to know about how write a perfect email in English. Again, don’t forget to proofread, proofread, proofread!

Connect with native speakers globally and practice speaking any language for free!