语言

怎么用不同国家的语言点咖啡?

Yoyo YANGJuly 4, 2019

“三合一豆奶拿铁,大杯,不要奶泡”,就算是用自己的母语来点咖啡,那些繁杂的术语听起来还是像一门全新的语言,但是别担心,一个指南教你用七国语言点咖啡!

想要口语流利,开口练习的最快的方式。但是如果不住在当地,口语练习的机会就会大大减少。有没有一个免费的方法随时随地结交世界各地的朋友,一起练习外语呢?现在只要下载 Tandem app, 就可以轻松找到语伴练习外语,快加入我们吧!

“咖啡”这个词从何而来?

“Coffee”这个词在17世纪时变成一个英文词汇。咖啡(Coffea Arabica)原产于埃塞俄比亚的Kaffa省。咖啡豆随后到达了中东地区,阿拉伯人将咖啡称为“قهوة”(发音为qahwa)。据说咖啡豆被几经辗转被卖给了威尼斯的商人,后者称它为“caffè”,源自土耳其语中的“kahveh”,之后,它最终成为英语词汇里的“Coffee”。

pablo-merchan-montes-251879-unsplash (1)

“咖啡”在不同国家的不同写法

我们已经介绍了土耳其(kahveh),阿拉伯文(قهوة)还有意大利语中“咖啡”的写法,接下来就让我们看看其他国家文字中如何表达吧

  • 中文: 咖啡 (Kāfēi)
  • 马来文: Kopi
  • 法文: Café
  • 德文: Kaffee
  • 日文: コーヒー (Kōhī)
  • 韩文: 커피 (Keopi)
  • 葡萄牙文: Café
  • 俄文: Кофе (Kofe)
  • 西班牙文: Café
  • 南非荷兰语: Koffie
  • 荷兰文: Koffie
  • 芬兰文: Kahvi
  • 希腊文: Καφές (Kafés)
  • 印地语 : कॉफ़ी (Kofee)
  • 冰岛语: Kaffi
  • 罗马文: Cafea
  • 瑞典语: Kaffe

怎么用不同的语言点咖啡

没有什么聊天方式会比用一杯热咖啡打破尴尬更好了。咖啡就像语言能让人们产生联系,知道不同语言中的点咖啡技巧可以让交流更方便有效。

1. 德语:

在德语中,咖啡的写法是Kaffee, 如果你想用简单方便的方法点到一杯,可以说“Einen Kaffee, bitte”。如果想要更精确地说出咖啡的名字,可以换成“Schwarzkaffee/Americano”(黑咖啡)或是“Milchkaffee”(加奶的咖啡)。如果咖啡的选择很多,不妨问问店员有没有推荐的咖啡“Was können Sie empfehlen?”。德国不像其他欧洲国家,将咖啡打包(Zum Mitnehmen)是不太常见的。最后你可能会听到店员问“Sonst noch etwas?”(还有什么需要的吗),可以直接告诉店员“Nein, danke”(没有了,谢谢).

2. 法语:

虽然一杯咖啡在法语里写做“un café”,但是这偏向于指一杯浓缩咖啡。“Une noisette”才是法语里的浓缩加热牛奶的意思。如果你倾向于喝滴漏式咖啡,那说“Un allongé”就会更保险,虽然“Un allongé”比滴漏式咖啡的味道更浓,但是比浓缩更易接受。完整的一句点咖啡用语通常是“Bonjour. Je voudrais un café, s'il vous plaît.”。“bonjour”是很常见的见面语,礼貌很重要哦。如果想示意咖啡要带走,可以直接说“Cafe à emporter.”在法国,句尾加个“merci”(谢谢)是最好不过了。

3. 西班牙语:

一杯浓缩在西班牙语里是“Café Solo”,如果想要双倍浓缩可以说“Café Doble”。游客通常会点“Café Americano” (美式),就像一般美式一样,西班牙的做法也会将热水加进浓缩里再微微过滤。“Cortado”是浓缩加少许牛奶,而a “Café con leche”是一半浓缩一半牛奶。一整个句子连起来不妨说“Puede darme un café solo, por favor?”

4.意大利语:

在意大利,“un caffe”暗指一杯浓缩,上午来一杯浓缩就再好不过了,一句“buongiorno, un caffè per favore.”可以帮你唤醒整个身体。之后店员或许会问你要不要macchiato “lo vuole macchiato?”,意思是加不加冷牛奶。如果你想要加蒸汽牛奶,可以说“macchiato caldo”。如果觉得浓缩味道太重,也可以叫上一杯“caffè lungo”。 其中最受欢迎的莫过于“cappuccino”,这种浓缩加奶泡的叫法或许你还听过它叫“cappuccio”。最最重要的是,在意大利“latte”(拿铁)是牛奶的意思,可千万不能叫错了哦。

5. 葡萄牙语:

和法语,意大利语一样,“Um café”指浓缩咖啡。想喝味道淡一些的,要说“Uma meia de leite”,指一半牛奶一半咖啡,类似於拿铁。如果取中间一些的味道,不妨试试“uma meia de leite escura”,不想冒险的话“um abatanado com um pouco de leite”(黑咖啡加奶)会比较适合你。

nathan-dumlao-264380-unsplash (1)

6. 日语:

一般的咖啡或是黑咖啡叫ぶらっく こうひい(罗马音burakku kouhii 或者简短的burakku),浓缩是エスプレッソ (esupuresso),双倍浓缩则是ダブル (daburu)。但是很多老式咖啡店或者喫茶店 (kissaten)不提供浓缩咖啡,因为浓缩还是一个相对新潮的咖啡种类哦。日文里的拿铁是ラテ (rate),卡布奇诺是カプチーノ (Kapuchīno),在夏天,冰咖啡或是あいす こうひい (aisu kouhii)是非常受欢迎的选项。其他重要的词汇还有ミルク (miruku),意思是牛奶,还有砂糖 (砂糖),点单之后,可以加一句おねがいします(onegai shimasu)表示礼貌的请求哦。

7. 俄语:

尽管俄罗斯大多数人都更倾向於喝茶,但是咖啡文化也渐渐传播开来,一些比较热门的咖啡在俄文里也有了自己的写法:

  • Эспрессо (浓缩)
  • Американо (美式)
  • Латте (拿铁)
  • Капучино (卡布奇诺)

如果想选择大小,Маленький (小杯), Средний (中杯), Большой (大杯)掌握这三个词就可以了。还有一个非常重要的词汇,糖(сахар),俄罗斯大约83%的咖啡是用糖制成的。*把这个词汇放在一个句子中你可以说 Мне, пожалуйста, американо без сахара (我想要杯美式,不加糖).

*RussiaKnowledge

你可能有兴趣:

Language

How to Order a Coffee in Different Languages

Muireann ClarkeJuly 4, 2019

”Can I have a triple, venti, soy, no foam latte, please?” Sometimes ordering coffee is like speaking a whole other language — even if you are ordering it in your native language. This is why we have put together a guide on how to order coffee in 8 different languages.

Speaking is the fastest way to fluency. But getting the chance to speak a language is a challenge when you’re not living in the country. What if there was a way to befriend a native speaker and practice any time, any place, totally for free? Enter the Tandem app, where you can speak any language, anywhere.

Where does the word “coffee” come from?

The word "coffee" entered the English language in the 1600s. The coffee plant (Coffea Arabica) is native to the Kaffa province of Ethiopia. Coffee beans had then reached the Middle East where coffee was referred to by the Arabs as “قهوة” (pronounced qahwa). It was then said to have been sold to merchants in Venice, who called it “caffè” derived from the Turkish “kahveh.” From there, it eventually worked its way into English as “coffee.”

pablo-merchan-montes-251879-unsplash (1)

The word “coffee” in other languages

So, we have covered the translation for coffee in Turkish (kahveh), Arabic (قهوة) and Italian (caffè), let’s take a look at the word “coffee” in some more of the world’s most commonly spoken languages.

  • Chinese: 咖啡 (Kāfēi)
  • Malay: Kopi
  • French: Café
  • German: Kaffee
  • Japanese: コーヒー (Kōhī)
  • Korean: 커피 (Keopi)
  • Portuguese: Café
  • Russian: Кофе (Kofe)
  • Spanish: Café
  • Afrikaans: Koffie
  • Dutch: Koffie
  • Finnish: Kahvi
  • Greek: Καφές (Kafés)
  • Hindi: कॉफ़ी (Kofee)
  • Icelandic: Kaffi
  • Romanian: Cafea
  • Swedish: Kaffe

How to order coffee in different languages

There's nothing better than having a good chat with someone over a hot cup of coffee. Coffee, like languages, helps to bring people together so there’s no doubt that it will be very useful to learn how to order a coffee in different languages.

1. German:

The German word for “coffee” is “Kaffee.” If you want to keep it simple and efficient (the German way) you can say “Einen Kaffee, bitte” meaning “a coffee, please.” If you want to get more specific, you can say a “Schwarzkaffee/Americano” (black coffee) or “Milchkaffee” (coffee with steamed milk). If the coffee choices are quite complicated you can simply ask the barista “Was können Sie empfehlen?” (what would you recommend?). Unlike other European countries, it is not unusual to ask for your coffee to go or “Zum Mitnehmen.” You might hear the barista say “Sonst noch etwas?” (anything else?), to which you can simply reply with “Nein, danke” (no, thank you).

2. French:

Even though “un café” means a coffee in French, be prepared to get an espresso instead of a cup of coffee. “Une noisette” is the French name for a shot of espresso with a slight splash of hot milk. “Un allongé” is a safe bet if you are looking for something similar to filtered coffee. This is still stronger than most filtered coffee, but not nearly as strong as espresso. To form a sentence you can say, “Bonjour. Je voudrais un café, s'il vous plaît." It is common practice to say “bonjour” to anyone the first time you speak to them, so don’t forget that word to be polite. If you want your coffee to go, let the barista know by saying “Cafe à emporter.” The French will never fault you for being overly polite so at the end of your order add in “merci” (thank you).

3. Spanish:

If you are looking to order a single shot of espresso you will need “Café Solo.” If you want a double hit of caffeine, ask for a “Café Doble” or two shots of espresso. The one most popular with tourists would probably be a “Café Americano” (Americano). Like all Americanos, a Café Americano basically has extra hot water added to the espresso shot to make a weaker brew. “Cortado” is an espresso with a splash of milk while a “Café con leche” is half espresso and half milk. With the coffee vocab down, it’s time to form a sentence: “¿Puede darme un café solo, por favor?”

4. Italian:

When in Italy, “un caffe” is implied to mean espresso. So, in the morning you can say, “buongiorno, un caffè per favore.” The barista may then ask you, ”lo vuole macchiato?” (do you want it macchiato?), meaning with a drop of cold milk. You can ask for a “macchiato caldo” if you want the milk to be steamed. If espresso is too strong, you could also ask for a “caffè lungo” (long), which is weaker as it is brewed with more hot water. Another popular favorite is a “cappuccino,” a shot of espresso with milk foam – you may also hear it called “cappuccio.” An important thing to remember when ordering coffee in Italy: don’t ask for “latte” unless all you want is a glass of cold milk!

5. Portuguese:

“Um café” is an espresso, and it’s what you’ll get if you ask for a coffee. If you would like to order something less strong and milkier go for “Uma meia de leite.” This is half milk and half coffee, and it’s similar to a flat white or a latte. You can choose to make it stronger by asking for “uma meia de leite escura.” If you are a little bit less adventurous, ask for “um abatanado com um pouco de leite” (black coffee with a bit of milk).

nathan-dumlao-264380-unsplash (1)

6. Chinese:

The first thing to do when you see the menu in Chinese is to not freak out! These are some translations for your favorite coffees:

  • 浓缩咖啡— nóng suō kā fēi (Espresso)
  • 美式咖啡— měi shì kā fēi (Americano)
  • 拿铁— ná tiě (Latte)
  • 卡布奇诺 — kǎ bù jī nuò (Cappuccino)

If you would like the iced version of any of the above, just add the word 冰 (bīng) in front of the coffee. For example, 冰拿铁 (bīng ná tiě) which means Iced Latte. Other important words include 牛奶— niú nǎi (milk), 豆浆— dòu jiāng (soy milk) and 糖— táng (sugar). Start off with a greeting followed by what you would like to order: 你好!我想要一个美式咖啡加豆浆— Nǐ hǎo! Wǒ xiǎng yào yīgè měishì kāfēi jīa dòu jiāng (Hello! I would like an Americano with soy milk, please).

7. Japanese:

A regular coffee or a black coffee without milk or sugar is ぶらっく こうひい pronounced burakku kouhii or burakku for short. A single espresso shot is エスプレッソ (esupuresso) or ダブル (daburu) if a double shot. One thing to note is that some old-style cafes or 喫茶店 (kissaten) won’t offer espressos because they are a relatively new trend in Japan— the intense and concentrated flavor doesn’t necessarily suit the Japanese palate. A Latte in Japanese is ラテ (rate) and a cappuccino is カプチーノ (Kapuchīno). Iced coffee or あいす こうひい (aisu kouhii) is very popular during the summertime and is also quite common to find it during the winter. Other important words are ミルク (miruku) meaning milk, and 砂糖 (砂糖) meaning sugar. After saying this, just add おねがいします(onegai shimasu) which means “please” or “can I have.”

8. Russian:

Despite the fact that the Russians are mainly tea-drinkers, their coffee culture has grown a lot over time. The names of the most popular coffees in Russian are:

  • Эспрессо (Espresso)
  • Американо (Americano)
  • Латте (Latte)
  • Капучино (Cappuccino)

If you would like to specify the size of the coffee you would like you can choose Маленький (small), Средний (medium), Большой (large). An important word when ordering a coffee in Russia is sugarー сахар. Roughly 83% of coffee consumed in Russia is made with sugar.* Putting this vocabulary in a sentence you can say Мне, пожалуйста, американо без сахара (I would like Americano without sugar).

*RussiaKnowledge

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE: