Изучение языка

Prost! Sante! KanpaI! 8 способов произнести тост на Октоберфесте

Polina Stolpovskaya3 октября 2019 г.3 мин на чтение

Октоберфест, один из крупнейших в мире пивных фестивалей, каждый год открывает двери для гостей со всего мира. Посетителей Октоберфеста связывает любовь к хорошему немецкому пиву, вкусной еде и желание хорошенько повеселиться. И среди звуков музыки и песен то тут, то там из пивных палаток будет слышно чоканье стаканами и кружками и крики "Prost!" – это немецкое слово, без которого не обходится ни один тост.

И вне зависимости от того, поедешь ты на Октоберфест или нет, мы считаем, что тебе просто необходимо знать, как поднимают тосты на 8 разных языках. Это отличный способ начать беседу во время фестиваля. И, если всё сделать правильно, то ты сможешь удивить местных. Вот небольшой экскурс в происхождение тостов и застольный этикет в разных странах.

В Tandem мы считаем, что лучший способ выучить язык – это начать говорить на нём. Мы разработали приложение, в котором ты сможешь общаться с носителями языка со всего мира и практиковать более 150 языков. И дело не только в том, чтобы обучать друг друга, но и в том, чтобы весело проводить время вместе, а бонусом улучшать свои языковые навыки.

giphy

Откуда взялась традиция чокаться?

Желать здоровья перед тем, как опрокинуть стаканчик – обычное явление, причём во всём мире. Но зачем мы чокаемся бокалами? Найти первопричину в дебрях истории оказалось довольно сложной задачей, однако мы обнаружили парочку теорий.

В Средневековье считалось, что чокаться кубками с напитками необходимо – это поможет избежать отравления (помните, что в те времена это был один из самых популярных способов избавиться от неприятеля?). Если наполнить кубки до краёв, а затем дружно ими чокнуться, то напитки из разных кубков немного перемешаются. То есть, если окружающие люди готовы перемешать свой напиток с вашим и затем выпить, то опасаться, что кто-то из присутствующих тебя отравит, вряд ли стоит. А громкое взаимное пожелание здоровья и звон кубков поможет отогнать злых духов и демонов.

В российской культуре умение произнести тост занимает отдельное место, а самой популярной тостовой фразой считается «На здоровье!». И если именно ты разливаешь напитки для всех за столом, наливай себе в последнюю очередь (не спрашивай, почему). Есть ли у этой застольной фразы аналоги в других языках?

«На здоровье!» по-немецки

Используй слово «prost» – этот короткий тост ты обязательно услышишь на Октоберфесте много раз (и не только этот тост, но и другие фразы). Кстати, немцы считают, что при произнесении тоста важно смотреть присутствующим в глаза, иначе жди несколько лет неудач!

«На здоровье!» на испанском, португальском и французском

Saying cheers in one of the Romance languages can be a little confusing. In Spanish speaking countries they say “salud,” in Portuguese it’s “saúde” and the French say “santé.” In each of the languages, the word translates to “(good) health,” much like the English expression.

«На здоровье!» по-английски

Английское слово «cheers» происходит от «chiere» – старого французского слова, означающего «лицо» или «голова». В 18 веке оно часто использовалось как крик поддержки или поощрения. Сегодня «cheers» – это практически наше «На здоровье!», после которого звенят бокалами.

«На здоровье!» по-китайски

Если ты чокаешься бокалами в Китае, говори «gān bēi» (干杯). Фраза переводится подобной английской «bottoms up» – высушить бокал. Помнишь, что и в России есть такая странная традиция – залпом допить до дна и перевернуть бокал? Если слышишь «gān bēi», придётся осушить бокал полностью.

«На здоровье!» по-японски

Самый распространённый короткий тост в Японии – «канпай» (乾杯). Но, прежде чем сделать первый глоток, не забудь про этикет: находясь в компании старших или руководства, дождись, пока первый глоток сделают они. Это важный знак уважения!

Language

Prost! Santé! Kanpai! 8 Ways to Say “Cheers” this Oktoberfest

TandemSeptember 27, 20183-min read

What language do you want to practice?

enEnglish
esSpanish
frFrench
deGerman
itItalian
ptPortuguese
ruRussian
jaJapanese
zhChinese
koKorean
Other

Oktoberfest, one of the world’s largest beer festivals, will soon open its doors, welcoming visitors from far and wide. Oktoberfest-goers bond over good German beer, delicious German food and the shared desire to have fun. Amongst the oompah bands and typical chants, the beer tents are filled with echoes of “Prost!,” the German word for “cheers.”

Regardless of whether you get the chance to travel to Oktoberfest this year, we think it’s important for everyone to know how to say “cheers” in several languages. It’s a great conversation starter when traveling, and if done correctly, it’s definitely something that will impress the locals. So here’s a little insight into the origins of saying cheers, toasting etiquettes in different countries and how to say “cheers” in eight different languages.

Here at Tandem, we believe that the best way to learn a language is to actually speak it! That’s why we’ve developed an awesome app that allows members to connect with native speakers and practice 150+ languages. It’s not just about learning from each other, it’s also about having fun while practicing languages together.

giphy

Why do we cheers?

Cheers’ing to good health before drinking an alcoholic drink continues to be customary all around the world. But why do we actually clink glasses? Although it has proven a little difficult to unearth the exact reason where the practice of saying cheers comes from, there are a few widely held theories.

In Medieval times, it was believed that clinking glasses would prevent you from being poisoned. If you filled your drinks right to the top, and then clinked hard, the alcohol would most likely spill into the other person’s glass. This way, you could be sure no one had slipped something into your drink while you weren’t looking. Saying cheers was also a way of warding off evil spirits. The sounds of the glasses clinking and the loud cheering would scare demons and spirits away.

Cheers in German

As we’ve already mentioned if you want to say cheers in German you use the word “prost,” one of many must-know phrases for the beer halls of Oktoberfest. Beware that Germans insist on making eye contact when saying cheers. Failing to do this will result in several years of bad luck!

Cheers in Spanish, Portuguese and French

Saying cheers in one of the Romance languages can be a little confusing. In Spanish speaking countries they say “salud,” in Portuguese it’s “saúde” and the French say “santé.” In each of the languages, the word translates to “(good) health,” much like the English expression.

Cheers in Russian

Toasting plays a big role in Russian culture. If you want to propose a toast in Russian, you use the phrase “На здоровье!” If you’re pouring the drinks for everyone around the table, make sure to pour yours last.

Cheers in Chinese

In Chinese, you say “gān bēi” (干杯) when clinking glasses. Similar to “bottoms up” in English, it literally translates as “dry the glass,” so it’s possible you’ll have to finish the drink quickly.

Cheers in Japanese

The most common way to cheers in Japanese is to say “kanpai(乾杯). It’s mandatory etiquette to toast before taking the first sip and if you’re in the company of your seniors or your boss, you need to wait for them to make the toast first. It’s an important sign of respect.

Cheers in English

The English word “cheers” originates from "chiere," an old French word meaning “face” or “head.” In the 18th century, it was recorded as a shout of support or encouragement. Today, “cheers” is an expression of good health before drinking.

Connect with native speakers globally and practice speaking any language for free!