culture

Праздник середины осени: 8 интересных фактов и традиций

Polina Stolpovskaya11 сентября 2020 г.4 мин. на чтение

Какой язык ты хочешь изучать?

enанглийский
esиспанский
frфранцузский
deнемецкий
itитальянский
ptпортугальский
ruрусский
jaяпонский
zhкитайский
koкорейский
другой

Если ты знаешь хотя бы что-то о китайской культуре, то, скорее всего, ты в курсе, что в сентябре или октябре в этом регионе проходит особенный праздник – Праздник середины осени. Главный праздник в большей части Азии наступает на 15 день восьмого месяца по лунному календарю – в полнолуние. Именно поэтому его часто называют Лунным фестивалем. И это второй по величине праздник после Китайского Нового года.

В этом году праздник состоится 1 октября, и мы заранее попросили наше комьюнити рассказать о его истории и традициях. Ниже ты найдёшь 8 фактов, которые необходимо узнать до того, как ты погрузишься в один из самых популярных праздников Восточной Азии.

Приложение Tandem создано не только для того, чтобы обмениваться языковыми навыками, оно и для культурного обмена, чтобы помогать людям по всему миру выстраивать конструктивные и интересные беседы. Разрушай барьеры и погружайся в разнообразие, скачивай приложение прямо сейчас!

1. Когда Праздник середины осени состоялся впервые?

Этот праздник действительно древний. Можешь верить, можешь нет, но Праздник середины осени отмечали более 1000 лет назад! Впервые он был учреждён династией Сун (960-1279 гг.), но считается что изначально Праздник середины осени возник в традиции поклонения Луне при династии Чжоу более 3000 лет назад.

В Древней китайской империи в этот день было принято молиться за урожай, хорошую погоду и мир. Поскольку урожай был связан с лунным циклом, Праздник состоялся только в полнолуние. Некоторые правители относились к этому действу невероятно серьёзно. Например, вдовствующая императрица Цыси (конец 19 века) уделяла целых 5 дней сложным ритуалам поклонения Луне, несмотря на свой напряжённый график.

empress dowager cixi

2. Кто такая Чанъэ?

Возможно, ты слышал от своих китайских друзей, что некто по имени Чанъэ «живёт на Луне». Это один из самых распространённых мифов о Празднике середины осени. Чанъэ – китайская богиня Луны и бессмертия, именно ей делают подношения во время Праздника. Десятки разных мифов рассказывают о том, как Чанъэ пришла посмотреть на Луну. В самом известном Чанъэ глотает таблетки, принадлежащие её мужу, которые дают ей бессмертие и возможность летать, поэтому она решает жить одна на Луне.

3. Символы Праздника середины осени

Это сама Луна, конечно же, самый большой символ Праздника. В некоторых местностях люди всё ещё поклоняются Луне, как и 3000 лет назад. Обычно они кладут еду и фрукты на стол под Луной, молясь об удаче. Ещё один символ, который ассоциируют в Китае с Луной и праздником – Нефритовый кролик. Говорят, что пятна на Луне напоминают кролика, держащего ступку и пестик, и этот кролик сопровождает Чанъэ на Луне.

jade rabbit

4. Что такое «лунный пряник»?

Делиться лунными пряниками и есть их – это самый важный способ праздновать. Хотя в разных частях Китая люди могут праздновать по-разному, лунные пряники или «юэбины» едят в это время везде.

Округлость лунных пряников символизирует полноту и воссоединение, единство семьи. Часто члены одной семьи угощают лунными пряниками друг друга или даже делятся одним пряником друг с другом. Однако в разных регионах делают пряники с разными начинками. Например, в Гонконге ты сможешь попробовать вкусный лунный пряник с «ледяной кожей» и пастой из красной фасоли. В Северном Китае чаще в качестве начинки использую ореховое ассорти. Ещё лунные пряники бывают с пастой из семян лотоса, ветчиной и орехами или заварным кремом из яиц.

mooncakes

5. Как ещё можно отмечать Праздник середины осени?

Праздник середины осени посвящён воссоединению с семьёй. В это время очень важно побывать дома и встретиться с самыми близкими людьми. В китайской литературе образ Луны всегда связан со скукой по дому, поэтому можешь не удивляться, если увидишь кого-то кто ходит рука об руку весь Праздник. Семьи часто собираются вместе, чтобы почтить Луну.

Помимо лунных пряников к столу на этом Празднике принято подавать также традиционные продукты – яблоки, груши, персики, виноград, гранаты и помело. Кстати, в этот день одиноким людям предоставляется прекрасный шанс найти партнёра, и танцы на Празднике часто устраиваются именно с этой целью.

6. Все ли в Китае отмечают Праздник середины осени одинаково?

Как и большинство традиционных праздников, Праздник середины осени отмечается в разных регионах Китая по-разному. В Нанкине, одном из крупных городов Китая, люди будут есть утку, запечённую с душистым османтусом. В Шанхае будут пить традиционный алкогольный напиток из османтуса. Во многих регионах украсят дома фонариками.

Osmanthus fragrans

7. Как отмечается Праздник середины осени в других азиатских странах?

Этот Праздник отмечают в Японии, Южной Корее, Вьетнаме, Таиланде, Сингапуре, Малайзии и на Филиппинах. Обычаи празднования в разных странах, конечно, различаются. Например, в Южной Корее Праздник называют Днём благодарения и отправляют в этот день подарки родственникам и друзьям, вместо лунных пряников едят пироги в форме персика. Но в целом, во всех азиатских странах Праздник середины осени – это отличный повод собраться с семьёй и почтить Луну.

8. Какие слова и фразы я должен знать, чтобы праздновать?

Если прямо сейчас ты изучаешь китайский язык, мы подготовили для тебя несколько фраз, чтобы ты мог удивить своих китайских друзей!

中秋 – это название Праздника середины осени, причём переводится оно буквально, потому что «中» означает «середина», а «秋» – осень. То есть праздник был просто назван по времени, когда он обычно происходит.

月饼 – это лунный пряник. Обязательно расспроси своего Tandem-партнёра о вкусе этого лакомства и поинтересуйся, какая начинка ему больше нравится. Возможно, он даже отправит тебе попробовать лунный пряник 😄

А если ты хочешь кого-то поздравить, то используй фразы «中秋 快乐» (упрощенный китайский) или «中秋節 快樂» (традиционный китайский), что означает «Счастливого Праздника середины осени!»

И для продвинутых…

Если ты уже хорошо владеешь китайским языком, в качестве поздравления цитируй стихи! Например, 但愿人长久 , 千里 共 婵娟. Что означает «пусть близкий человек останется с вами/мной навсегда, чтобы мы могли делить лунный свет вместе, независимо от того, находимся ли мы рядом или нет». Это стихотворение известно почти каждому китайцу и часто используется в качестве поздравления во время Праздника середины осени.

rsz mid-autumn-1

Общайся с носителями языка со всего мира и изучай иностранный язык – бесплатно!

If you know anything at all about Chinese culture, you’ll know that September/October brings a very special event to the region – the mid-Autumn festival.

A major holiday in many parts of Asia, the mid-Autumn festival happens on the 15th day of the 8th month of the lunar calendar with full moon at night. It is often called “Moon Festival” for this reason. It is the second most important festival in China after New Year!

This year the festival is happening on 4th October, so, to celebrate, we asked our community to give us the low-down on the festival’s history and traditions.

Here are the top facts you need to know before celebrating one of the most famous festivals of East Asia!

1. When was the first Mid-Autumn festival?

First off: this festival is ANCIENT. Believe it or not, the mid-Autumn festival has been around for more than 1000 years! It was first established as a holiday in the Song Dynasty (960-1279) but is believed that Mid-Autumn festival originated from the custom of worshiping the moon back in Zhou dynasty over 3000 years ago.

Ancient Chinese emperors traditionally used the mid-Autumn festival to pray for the harvest, fine weather and the peace for the country. Because the harvest was tied to the moon cycle, the festival is meant to take place when the moon is at its fullest. And some rulers took it incredibly seriously – Empress Dowager Cixi (late 19th century) loved it so much she took five days out of her busy schedule every year to stage elaborate moon-worship rituals.

empress dowager cixi

2. Who was Chang’e?

You might have heard from your Chinese friends that someone called Chang’e “lives in the moon”. Sounds a bit crazy, but actually it’s one of the biggest myths surrounding the mid-Autumn festival. Chang’e is a famous Moon Goddess of immortality from Chinese tradition, and traditionally, offerings are made to her during the Moon Festival.

There are actually dozens of different myths about how she came to gaze at the moon. One famous one involves Chang’e swallowing some pills belonging to her husband that gave her immortality and the ability to fly. Because she was immortal, she decided to live on the moon alone for ever.

3. What are the main symbols of the mid-Autumn festival?

The moon itself is, of course, the biggest symbol of the mid-Autumn festival. In some places, people still worship the moon, just as they did 3,000 years ago. Usually, they put food and fruits on the table towards the moon, praying for luck.

The Jade Rabbit is another symbol that people in China associate with the moon and the festival. The markings of the moon are said to look like a rabbit holding a mortar and pestle, and this rabbit is a companion of Chang’e on the moon.

jade rabbit

4. What is a mooncake?

Sharing and eating mooncakes is hands-down the most important way to celebrate Mid-Autumn festival. Though in different parts of China, people may celebrate differently, eating mooncakes is the one consistent part of the celebration that you will always come across. Symbolically, the roundness of the mooncake signifies completeness and reunion, particularly in relation to family unity. Often family members give mooncakes to one another, or cut and distribute pieces from the same mooncake.

As for what they are made from, this varies from region to region, particularly the stuffing and pastry wrapping. In Hong Kong, for example, you can try the tasty “ice-skin” mooncake stuffed with red bean paste. In Northern China, assorted nuts mooncakes are most common. There are also delicious variants with lotus seed paste, ham and nuts, or even egg custard.

mooncakes

5. What else do people do to celebrate the mid-Autumn festival?

The mid-Autumn festival is all about reunion with family members. Therefore, it is really important to go back home on that day and celebrate there together with those closest to you. In Chinese literature, the moon is highly associated with the emotion of missing home, so you can see why the two go hand in hand during the mid-Autumn festival.

Families often gather to appreciate the beauty of the moon as well. Besides the infamous mooncake, people also eat other traditional foods, such as apples, pears, peaches, grapes, pomegranates and pomelos. And, considering it is such a lucky day for unity, it is regarded as a good day for singletons to find a partner, so often dances are held for this exact aim.

6. Do all Chinese people celebrate in the same way?

Just like most traditional festivals, mid-Autumn festival is celebrated differently in different regions. In Nanjing, one of the major cities in China, people will eat duck made with sweet-scented Osmanthus to celebrate. In Shanghai, people drink a unique kind of alcoholic beverage made from Osmanthus. In quite a few regions, lanterns are an essential decoration for this time of year.

osmanthus

7. How do countries aside from China celebrate this festival?

Some other Asian countries also celebrate the mid-Autumn festival, including Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, and Philippines. However, the customs differ from country to country. For example, in South Korea, people call it “Thanksgiving day”. They tend to celebrate it by sending gifts to relatives and friends. Instead of eating mooncake, people eat peach-shaped cakes. But generally speaking, the festival is seen as an opportunity to gather with family and appreciate the moon.

8. What Chinese words and phrases should you know for this festival?

If you happen to be learning Chinese right now, we have prepared a few phrases for you to learn and impress your Chinese friends with!

“中秋” is the name of Mid-Autumn festival in Chinese. This word has been directly translated by its literal meaning, so “中” means mid, while “秋” means autumn. You can tell from its name that it was named after the time when it usually takes place.

“月饼” means “mooncake”. You can ask your Chinese Tandem partner to tell you more about what it tastes like and don’t forget to ask about their favorite flavors! Perhaps they will even send you one to try yourself 🙂

If you want to send your greetings during the mid-Autumn festival, you can use this phrase: “中秋快乐” (simplified Chinese) or “中秋節快樂“ (traditional Chinese), which means “happy Mid-Autumn festival!”

And for advanced learners…

If you are already an advanced speaker of Chinese, we strongly suggest you quote some famous poems like “但愿人长久,千里共婵娟” to impress your partners! This sentence means “may the loved one stay with you/me forever, so that we can share the moonlight together no matter whether we are at the same place or not”. This poem is well-known by almost every Chinese person, and frequently used during mid-Autumn festival.

moon festival 2017
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE…

What’s The Difference Between European and Brazilian Portuguese?

| Tutor Tips | No Comments
Do you know your sumo from your suco? Your gelado from your sorvete? We interview our Portuguese Tutor, Nana, to find out more about Portuguese and the difference between European...

8 Steps To Get You Ready For Your First Video Language Exchange

| Tandem Tips | No Comments

Language exchange by video can raise some challenges that you wouldn’t expect with a face-to-face exchange, but luckily a little preparation goes a long away. Follow these steps and you are guaranteed to be a video exchange guru in no time!

World Kindness Day: How Kindness And Language Learning Go Hand In Hand

| Culture | No Comments
Kindness. It may not be something you immediately associate with learning a language, but actually you often don't find one without the other. Seems strange? Think of the first time...