文化

世界难民日:语言学习及文化交流

YoyoJune 12, 2019

Tandem的核心价值是联系世界各地的朋友,我们相信语言是文化融合和交流的关键。随着6月20日世界难民日的临近,我们希望通过交流来加深人们对当前全球难民危机的认识,同时表现出我们的社会关怀和团结。

什么是世界难民日?

世界难民日由联合国大会(UNGA)设立,致力于提高人们对全世界难民状况的认识。自2000年以来定为每年的6月20日。

难民的正式定义是什么?

联合国难民署 (UNHCR) 将难民定义为……

“难民是逃离武装冲突和宗教或其他形式的迫害的人士。由于处境危险,他们不得不跨越国界到其他国家寻求庇护。请想象你仅仅是为了寻求安全的庇护而不得不逃离自己的国家。如果命运眷顾,你或许有时间收拾一个小小的随身行李;而如果不够幸运,你只有放弃一切逃离家园。战争和种族,部落和宗教暴力是逃离本国的难民的主要原因。”

目前全世界有2540万难民,其中一半未满18岁。另有310万寻求庇护者正在等待六个月到几年之间庇护。这相当于每天有444万人因冲突和迫害而被迫逃离家园。 这数字攀升到前所未见的高峰。

t-chick-mcclure-609632-unsplash copy

在世界难民日时会做什么?

6月20日在不同的国家用不同的方式为难民发声。许多着名的地标,如巴黎的埃菲尔铁塔和纽约的帝国大厦,都以联合国的标志蓝色点亮。在苏格兰的格拉斯哥,人们牵手在市中心的乔治广场周围形成一条巨大的人链,向世界展示苏格兰欢迎难民。此外,在许多国家和城市会放映电影,举办展览和各种筹款活动。你可以在这里你可以在这里查看联合国难民署UNCHR的活动。

我们能做些什么去支持难民呢?

旅行:

旅行可以让人保持开放的心态,让你有新的体验。它揭示了不同的生活方式,思维方式,甚至可以改变我们看待世界的方式。学习和说一种新语言可以让你与新朋友交流,丰富你的社交网络。

分享他们的故事:

分享这个博客和任何其他媒体帖子或故事,帮助提高人们对难民情况的认识,并使用话题标签#WithRefugees来倡导平等。 Duolingo制作了一部非常强大且充满情感的纪录片,名为“Something Like Home”,绝对值得您花时间观看。这是关于语言和教育对土耳其和约旦叙利亚难民生活的影响。

志愿者和捐赠活动:

看看你所在的地区是否有一个需要志愿者或捐赠的当地难民营或中心,捐赠如衣服,食物或书籍。您也可以选择直接向中心或通过难民署官方网站捐款。志愿者的另一种方式是提供一种特殊的技能,可以帮助难民融入到社区当中。这可以指提供教授当地语言,为难民创办体育俱乐部或提供指导。

支持倡议活动:

2014年,德国开始实施“难民欢迎”倡议计划 ,以便那些有需要的难民申请庇护;这个倡议计划已经扩展到20个国家。 Open Homes是一个Airbnb项目,让主人可以免费向难民和流离失所者提供空间。联合国难民事务高级专员办事处最近分享了一系列令人鼓舞的故事,如果您有兴趣,可以在这里查看他们的故事。

雇用难民:

支持难民在工作场所工作是很重要的一环,他们同样可以为公司增加文化多样性,提供实用的技能。 2017年1月,星巴克承诺在五年内在全球雇用10,000名难民。在柏林,难民在博物馆担任导游,向游客展示来自家乡的文化财富。

举办倡议和筹款活动:

你可以在任何地方为难民尽一份力,在你的社区,学校或工作场所都可以进行倡议或是参加半程马拉松比赛,赞助游泳或举行抽奖活动。GoFundMe等在线网站可让您轻松设置筹款活动并让您的支持者捐款。您还可以联系当地的难民署办事处,使用UNCHR材料和资源,如横幅,T恤或海报进行宣传。

nate-greno-1218591-unsplash copy

TANDEM如何支持难民融入社会

无论你生活在世界的哪个角落,文化都将人们聚集在一起。文化是一种语言,不需要任何口译员,但却能让人彼此产生联系。无论是语言,舞蹈还是音乐,文化都可以将不同来源和宗教的人联系起来,相互理解。

Tandem使世界各地的人们都能学习外语。我们通过应用程式将世界各地的母语人士联系起来,使人们能够跨越国界交流。多年来,我们收到了无数人的语言交换故事并将它们收录在Tandem有故事 系列中,讲述学习新语言如何影响他们的生活。语言拥有统一,包容和平等的强大力量。在一个日益相互联系的世界中,通过语言和文化交流的全球理解从未如此重要。

Tandem应用程序不仅仅可以让你轻松进行语言交换,还可以与来自世界各地的人们进行有意义的文化交流。现在下载我们的Tandem应用程序,一起打破文化认知障碍,感受世界文化的多样性吧!

你或许也喜欢…

Culture

World Refugee Day: Language Learning and Cultural Exchange

Muireann ClarkeJune 12, 2019

Tandem’s core value is to unite people across borders. We believe that language is the key to integration and cultural exchange. With World Refugee Day fast approaching on June 20th, we want to show solidarity by adding to the conversation and help raise awareness of the current global refugee crisis.

What is World Refugee Day?

World Refugee Day is dedicated to raising awareness of the situation of refugees throughout the world. It is celebrated on the 20th June every year since 2000 and was created by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

What is the official definition of the term refugee?

The UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) defines a refugee to be…

“someone who has been forced to flee his or her country because of persecution, war or violence. A refugee has a well-founded fear of persecution for reasons of race, religion, nationality, political opinion or membership in a particular social group. Most likely, they cannot return home or are afraid to do so. War and ethnic, tribal and religious violence are leading causes of refugees fleeing their countries.”

There are currently 25.4 million refugees worldwide, half of whom are under the age of 18. An additional 3.1 million of whom are asylum-seekers who are waiting between a period of six months to several years for their asylum to be granted. This equates to 44,400 people being forced to flee their homes because of conflict and persecution every day. These figures are the highest ever seen.

t-chick-mcclure-609632-unsplash copy

What happens on World Refugee Day?

There are lots of events happening on June 20th in different countries. Many famous landmarks, such as the Eiffel Tower in Paris and the Empire State Building in New York, are lighted up in blue, the color of the United Nations. In Glasgow, Scotland, people hold hands to form an enormous human chain around George Square, in the city center, to show the world that Scotland welcomes refugees. In many cities, there are film showings, exhibitions, and various fundraising events. You can check out the UNCHR events here.

How can I support refugees?

Travel:

Traveling is so important to keep an open mind and expose yourself to new experiences that you would not have at home. It reveals different ways of life, ways of thinking and can permanently alter the way we see the world. Learning and speaking a new language allows you to communicate with new people and adds diversity to your network of friends.

Share their stories:

Share this blog and any other media posts or stories that help raise awareness about the refugee situation and use the hashtag #WithRefugees to help advocate for equality. Duolingo has put together a very powerful and emotional documentary called “Something Like Home” which is definitely worth your time to watch. It is about the impact of language and education on the lives of Syrian refugees in Turkey and Jordan.

Volunteer and donate:

Have a look and see if there is a local refugee camp or center in your area that needs volunteers or donations such as clothes, food or books. You can also choose to donate money directly to the center or through the official UNHCR website. Another way to volunteer is to offer a specific skill that can help refugees feel part of the community. This could be offering to teach the local language, starting a sports club for refugees or coaching a team.

Host:

The Refugees Welcome initiative began in Germany in 2014 as a way to match those with a spare room with refugees in need; it has since expanded into 20 countries. Open Homes, an Airbnb project, let hosts offer their space for free to refugees and displaced people. The UNHCR recently published an inspiring series of stories profiling refugees and their hosts across Europe. If you’re interested, you can check out their stories here.

Employ refugees:

Refugees can be seen as guests rather than a vital member of society. It is important to include refugees who are permitted to work into the workplace because they can add great diversity and skills to a company. In January 2017, Starbucks pledged to hire 10,000 refugees globally over five years. In Berlin, Refugees are working as tour guides in museums showing tourists cultural riches from home.

Hold awareness and fundraising events:

This can be done wherever you are; in your communities, schools or workplace. Run a half marathon, do a sponsored swim or put on a raffle. Online websites such as GoFundMe make it easy for you to set up a fundraising campaign and for your supporters to donate. You can also use UNCHR materials and resources such as banners, T-shirts or posters by contacting your local UNHCR office.

nate-greno-1218591-unsplash copy

How Tandem supports refugee integration

Culture brings people together no matter what part of the world you are living in. Culture is a type of language which does not require any interpreters, but yet has the power to unite people. Whether it be language, dance or music, culture can connect people of different origins and religions, and enable mutual understanding.

Tandem makes language learning accessible to people all over the world. We enable people to come together across borders by connecting people with native speakers all over the world. Over the years, we've received countless amounts of stories from people sharing how learning a new language has impacted their lives in our Tandem Tales series. Languages hold great power for unity, inclusivity, and equality. In an increasingly interconnected world, global understanding, through language and cultural exchange, has never been more critical.

The Tandem app isn’t just about language exchange, it’s also about cultural exchange and fostering meaningful conversations with people from all over the world. Break down barriers and celebrate diversity by downloading our Tandem app now!

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE…