每年的7月17日被定为世界Emoji日。之所以定在这一天,是因为在emoji里,日历的对应表情是这样的:。据我们最近的一次统计,超过45000位Tandem的用户将“emoji语言”列入自己的掌握的语言之一。你当然也可以成为其中一个!

emojis

Emoji严格来说并不能算是一门外语,Tandem团队却觉得将其归入语言行列十分必要。为什么呢?因为对于语言学习者而言,emoji非常有用!

我们并不是希望用户能够用Emoji完全替代某种语言来交流,但在和语伴一同学习的时候,Emoji却能派上诸多用场!

我们这就教你如何用Emoji学好语言!

1.Emoji代替文字直译

Emoji在语言学习的早期阶段非常有用。许多简单的词汇和短语都有Emoji与之对应,因此在教学初学者的时候,Emoji也能派上用场。 “举个例子,俄语中乘搭不同的交通工具都有不同的动词,教起来实在是太难了!所以我会用许多交通工具的Emoji来帮我。例如和,在学习涉及飞机的单词时这两个表情就格外有用!”24岁的Igor如是说。

  1. 缓解氛围的利器

我们都有过这种体验——收到Tandem 上语伴的信息却不能确定他的意思,时常会想“他们真的是这样想的吗?”在另一种语言中很难表达出一些母语中轻易就可以感受的微妙的变化。幸运的是,Emoji作为一种缓和气氛的利器,跨越了语言国界。Tandem的团队成员May解释道:“当气氛有点尴尬的时候我就会用Emoji来交流,比如当我的语伴不懂我在说什么或者当我弄错东西的时候。一个简单的表情就可以化解一切尴尬,帮我们顺畅沟通。这是我最喜欢的Emoji了!”

  1. 传递你的幽默感

如果你在国外生活过一段时间,你就会知道,各个国家对于幽默的认知不同。并且在翻译的过程中,幽默会不可避免地流失。没什么比一个好的笑话因为语言变化黯然失色更让人感到沮丧的啦!这也是为什么我们的会员会如此喜欢用Emoji来表达幽默感。“当练习第二语言时,我最常用的就是 和这两个表情。”18岁的Moritz说,“我觉得我不是个特别幽默的人,但是至少在我想要表现得有趣一些的时候,Emoji帮到我很多。我希望我的Tandem语伴能够喜欢我的风趣。”

  1. 免去复杂的拼写

刚开始学习复杂的拼写很容易使人头疼。如果你正在和语伴对话,而你想要快速的写下和解释一个词,一个句子,Emoji就显得格外的有效快速,因为你既不需要切换键盘,也不需要思考用词(特别是当你在用你不熟悉的语言时)。这也是为什么在一些书写比较复杂的国家(比如中国),emoji会格外地受欢迎。

  1. 代替文字传达情绪

即使是用自己的母语交流,我们也时常会觉得emoji比文字更能表达我们的情绪。想象一下,当你不小心说了不该说的话,这个emoji就非常合适地表达你的心情,或者当你不小心吃了一种你非常讨厌的蔬菜,是不是很传神?再或者你看到了一些你不该看的东西,也能非常形象地表现你的尴尬。Tandem的团队成员victoria告诉我们说,“当进行对话的时候,Emoji可以快速的展现你的情绪。我最喜欢这个Emoji,我一般用它来表示有点讽刺和挖苦的意思,Emoji是个用来传达复杂情绪的非常好的方法。”

Emoji能够完全代替书面语言吗?显然不能。但Emoji能帮我们更轻松地与其他语言的使用者和来自不同文化背景的人沟通,这显然已经足够啦!​​​​

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE…

第一次语言交换的8条建议

| Tandem小贴士 | No Comments

Language exchange by video can raise some challenges that you wouldn’t expect with a face-to-face exchange, but luckily a little preparation goes a long away. Follow these steps and you are guaranteed to be a video exchange guru in no time!

关于啤酒节,你必须知道的十件事

| 文化 | No Comments
慕尼黑啤酒节,也被称为十月节,是世界上最大的啤酒主题节庆,每...

啤酒节可以用起来的十句短语

| 文化 | No Comments
慕尼黑啤酒节,是世界上最大的啤酒主题节日,于每年的9月末,十...

Are you fluent in Emoji? 😎 World Emoji Day is celebrated on 17th July (a date chosen because the calendar emoji looks like this: 📅 ). At last count, we had over 45,000 members of the Tandem community who consider themselves to be “native Emoji speakers”🤓. So there’s a good chance you are one of them!

Emoji isn’t usually considered to be a foreign language, but we felt it was an important one to include. Why? Because emojis are INCREDIBLY USEFUL for language learners!

We’re not expecting you to be replacing languages fully with emojis, but there is no denying that they can be used in lots of different ways when learning with a partner.

Download Tandem for iOS or Android to start learning a language today!

Here are 5 ways emojis can save your life when learning a language:

1. Avoiding translation

Emojis come into their own during the early stages of learning a language. There is an emoji picture for many simple words and phrases, so it can be a very useful tool indeed for teaching beginners. “Russian, for example, has lots of verbs for movement which you use with different modes of transport. It’s SO difficult to teach! So I like to use all the different transport emojis to help… the 🛫 and 🛬 are particularly helpful when talking about flights!” says Igor, 24.

2. Diffusing tension

Ahh, we’ve all been there. You get a message from your Tandem partner and you think, “Did they really mean to say that?!” It can be really hard to express things in the subtle way you would in your own language. Luckily, emojis are the universal tension diffuser. Tandem member May, 23, explains: “Actually I use emojis to communicate when things get a little awkward – say my partner doesn’t understand what I’m saying, or I made a mistake. A simple 😂 goes a long way to diffuse any tension and help communication. It’s my favourite emoji!”

3. Signalling humour

If you’ve ever spent time abroad, you’ll know that humour is something that differs from country to country. But that is also something that often gets lost in translation! There’s nothing worse than a joke falling flat. That’s why our members often like to use emojis liberally to show exactly when they are making a joke. “I use the 😉 way more often when speaking in my second language,” says Moritz, 18. “I don’t think I’m a funnier guy, but I definitely find them useful to show that I’m trying to be funny at least! I just hope my Tandem partner appreciates my efforts at comedy!”

4. Shortcut with complex scripts

Learning a new script can be really difficult when you first start out. Imagine going from Spanish to Chinese, or from Korean to Georgian, or from Bengali to Russian! If you’re having a video conversation with your Tandem partner and you want to write and explain something quickly, sometimes using emoji is the quickest and most effective way of doing this rather than having to change keyboards and work out how to say something (especially when you’re still relatively new to the written language). This is one of the reasons emojis have taken off to such a huge degree in countries with complex scripts, like China.

5. To share our emotions when words aren’t enough

Even when you are speaking to someone native in your language, most of us often find scenarios where an emoji speaks louder than words. Imagine you just mispronounced a word and said something totally inappropriate by mistake. Or you accidentally ate your least favorite vegetable. Or you saw something you didn’t want to see = 🙈 . Tandem member Victoria tells us, “When it comes to conversation exchange, it is so helpful to be able to express your emotions fast. My favourite emoji is the 🙃 which I use when I am being a bit sarcastic. It’s a good way of showing complex emotions really quickly!”

Could we see emoji replacing written language completely? Unlikely. But surely anything that helps us communicate more easily across languages and cultures is a good thing! 💩

Do you use emoji to communicate on Tandem? Do you have a funny story to tell? Let us know on Facebook or Twitter.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE…
tandem tales

Speak Spanish, Save Some Dollars!

| Tandem Tales | No Comments

If there’s one piece of language learning advice to remember, it is to never pass up an opportunity to practice your skills – especially when you least expect to use them! You never know… it could end up getting you a bargain. Ndiya, a member of Tandem from Texas, USA, experienced this firsthand when she put her Spanish skills to the test. Here’s her story!

Using Language Levels On Tandem

| App Advice | No Comments
Language Levels on Tandem are there to help you find a partner that matches your skills. That way, you will be able to have an equal language exchange without one...

What’s The Difference Between European and Brazilian Portuguese?

| Tutor Tips | No Comments
Do you know your sumo from your suco? Your gelado from your sorvete? We interview our Portuguese Tutor, Nana, to find out more about Portuguese and the difference between European...