用Tandem在線學英文

練習口語是語言流利的唯一方式

在我們的App上,我們為你找到來自各個國家,想要向你學習你的母語的學習者。

練習聽力與發音,無論你身在何處都能學習最道地的口語。

為什麼你應該開始學英語

不可置否,英語是全世界最廣泛使用的語言。雖然全世界的中文、西班牙文母語者比英語還要多,世界上大約有兩億人口會說相當程度的英語。這代表著,無論你到哪裡,你都可以找到會說一點英語的人。在許多地方,英語成了來自不同語言背景的人之間的通用語。

英語也是許多經濟強國的第一語言,例如美國、加拿大、澳洲、紐西蘭、英國。許多國際企業的總公司也座落於這些國家。因此,無論你希望在職場上加分,或者僅僅想要出國旅行,你的英語能力都將成為你的重要優勢。

對於造訪英語系國家有興趣的人,基本的英文能力絕對是必要的。因為大部分英語系國家的居民並不會說其他外語。從紐西蘭的原始大自然到美國的西部荒野,這些國家總是擁有值得造訪的美景。

關於英語的小常識

世界上約有4億英語母語者,加上2億會說英語的人口。

英語是世界第3大語言,其廣泛使用度為世界第2。

英語為6個國家的主要使用語言,並同時被列為67個國家的官方語言。

世界最大的英語系國家為美國,但英文並不是美國的官方語言。

英語源自西日耳曼語,但其許多單字源自於拉丁語。

英語是不同國家人與人之間的共通語。

學習說英語

當你學習說英文時,你必須注意英式英語和美式英語之間的差異。除了口音的不同,兩個國家的用字和拼音也有些許不一樣。例如」練習「這個單字在美國為」practice」,但在英國為「practise」。還有這兩個單字「顏色」和「最喜歡的」,在美國為 「color,」 and 「favorite」,但在英國寫為「colour」和「favourite」。還有這些差異:

US UK
Truck Lorry
Eggplant Aubergine
Apartment Flat
Pharmacy Chemist
Elevator Lift
Appetizer Starter

雖然這些些微的差距基本上對英國人和美國人不造成太大的問題,但誤會偶爾仍會發生。對於非母語者來說,向兩個國家的人交談練習、瞭解語言的差異尤其重要。

教室

最傳統的語言學習方式,很可能你在高中或大學時已試過了這種方法,它融合了語言學習的四個面向 – 聽說讀寫。但對很多人來說,這個方法可能有些枯燥。對忙碌的現代人來說,也很難在忙碌的行事歷上擠進語言課這個行程。

家教

類似於教室,這是一種語言學習過程相當有效率的方式。最好你能夠找到一個英語母語人士,讓他指引你法國人聽說讀寫的正確方式。這種一對一的教學對於語言學習者有相當大的成效。然而,若要找一個專業的老師,私人課程收費可能對一般人經濟負擔不小。一個好方法是找一個正在學中文的英國人(或英語母語),讓你們互相幫助學習 – 也就是外國人學語言流行的」Tandem「。

自學教材

在網路尚未如此發達前,在家自學的書本、錄音錄影帶非常流行。若你是相當有毅力的學生,這個方式可能值得一試。但這個方式少了學語言最重要的要素 – 與人互動。而且很有可能到頭來你的英語口語就像呆板的教科書,而非英文母語人士真正說話的方式。

電腦軟件

許多軟件模擬自然學習方式,幫助你從環境、景物中聯想,而非直接英語翻譯死記單字。目前有提供許多不同軟件,這根據每個人使用需求而不同。試著從聽、說、讀、寫各項技能中嘗試看看。然而這種方法仍然缺少學習中有趣又值得期待的人際互動。

旅遊

這是截至目前為止最好的學習方法。如果你有足夠的時間和資源能夠旅遊,並且待在某個國家一陣子,肯定是個好投資。當然,你必須要有些語言基礎,否則你可能會有些手足無措。

線上教學

網路上有許多標榜在線學法語的網站,許多甚至保證免費。這可能對於那些想試試水溫的英語入門者是很好的選擇,如果你還不確定英語是不是最適合你的外語。但是中高級的英語學習者來說,可能會對其緩慢的教學步調和初級教材失去耐性和興趣。

手機軟件

手機的軟件應用是在線語言教學的一大突破,你可以隨時上網連線世界各地的外語學習者和語言老師。若心血來潮,你可以在任何時間地點隨時練習英語。它為你創造簡單有趣的英語會話練習機會,尤其是道道地地的英語。

用TANDEM在線學英語

Tandem上的英語在線真人教學結合了以上所有方式的優點。從輕鬆有趣、像朋友般的教學中得到專業老師的指導,在任何時間、任何地點都可以上課。

藉由Tandem你可以:

  • 只要按下按鍵就能獲得一對一專人教學指導
  • 由Tandem團隊把關,挑選擁有教學證照和豐富經驗的英語老師
  • 每個語言都有多位老師提供選擇,讓你找到最適合你的教學風格
  • 最短的課程為15分鐘,讓你在忙碌的生活中也可以找到一點充實自己的空檔

今天就開始在Tandem Tutors預約一堂免費課程,並開啓你的學習旅程。你所需要做的,就是下載Tandem應用。快速、簡單、有趣。現在就開始!別再用沒時間作為藉口了! 馬上下載!

FIND NATIVE SPEAKERS

Tandem helps you find native speakers of almost any language who want to learn your language in exchange. Practice listening, improve your pronunciation, and learn to speak like a local no matter where you are.

MEET NEW PEOPLE

With 3 million people on Tandem from around the world, there’s always someone new to meet.

PRACTICE ANY LANGUAGE

No matter what language you’re learning, there’s someone on Tandem who can help you get fluent in no time.

Learning to speak English is easier than you think!

English is arguably the most widely spoken language in the entire world. Although there are actually more native speakers of Mandarin Chinese, and Spanish than there are native English speakers, it’s estimated that about 2 billion people can speak English on some level. This means that, no matter where you go, you can probably find someone who can speak a little bit of English, and in many places it’s become the de facto lingua franca between people who don’t speak each other’s language.

English is also the native language of many strong economic countries such as the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom. Many of the world’s leading companies are also headquartered in these countries. So whether you’d like a career with an international company, or simply want to travel abroad, learning English can give you a great advantage along the way.

For those interested in visiting one of the many English speaking countries, it’s important to learn to speak at least a little bit of English before you arrive, as the majority of English speakers don’t speak a second language. Although, you might find some here and there. There are many great places to visit in every English-speaking country, from the wild beauty of New Zealand, to the wild west of the United States.

Fast facts about English

  • There are 400 million native English speakers, and up to 2 billion total speakers.
  • English is the 3rd most spoken native language, and most widely spoken 2nd language in the world.
  • There are 6 countries where English is a majority native language, and 67 where it holds official status.
  • The largest English-speaking country is the USA, however it’s not the official language.
  • English is part of the West Germanic language family, but also contains many latin-based words.
  • English is the most commonly used  lingua franca between people who don’t speak each other’s language.

Learning to speak English

When you learn to speak English, one thing to keep in mind is that there can be a few differences between US English, and UK English. Besides the difference in the accent, there are also differences in the words they use, and the spelling of some words. For instance, “practice” in the US is spelled “practise” in the UK. And words like “color,” and “favorite” in the US are spelled like “colour” and “favourite” in the UK. A few differences between words are:

Truck

Lorry

Eggplant

Aubergine

Apartment

Flat

Pharmacy

Chemist

Despite the differences between the English spoken in the US and the UK, people from both countries generally have no problem understanding each other, however, sometimes misunderstanding can occur. In order to avoid these misunderstandings, it’s useful to practice with people from both places, and learn the ways they use the language differently.

Ways to learn to speak English

Learning to speak English can be quite an adventure, however thanks to the Internet, it’s an adventure you can go on whenever and where you are. Here is a list of the various ways you can learn to speak English.

 Classroom

Many people around the world have already taken English in a classroom at some point in their lives in either school or university. It’s a good way to get the basics of the language, and practice all 4 aspects of language learning (reading, writing, speaking, and listening). However, many people find it to be rather tedious and it can be large commitment to fit these lessons into busy schedules.

Private Lessons

This is one of the best ways to become fluent in another language. By learning directly from a native English speaker, you can practice speaking English how it’s actually used. This personal interaction is a great way to master the language in a very short amount of time. However, qualified language teachers can be difficult to find, and quite expensive to take private lessons with. A very option is to find someone who would like to learn your language, and have them teach you theirs – Tandem style.

A/V and Books

This method might be a little old school, but if you’re a bit of bookworm, it might be a good way to teach yourself English. However, it can be quite a solitary learning method, so unless you have the willpower to stick with it, it’s easy to get burned out. You also won’t get the social interaction that other language learning methods have, and many people consider that to be the whole point of learning a new language.

Software

A good way to learn English is on the computer with learning software. There are so many different programs you can choose from to try this for yourself. Some are better than others, but you’ll have to find one that works for you. Try to find one that used all 4 learning methods; reading, writing, speaking, and listening. This method can also lack the personal touch of other methods, and many find it hard to stick with these programs for long.

Travel and Immersion

Easily the best way to master any language in the shortest amount of time. If you have the time and the resources to travel and stay in another country for a longer period of time, it’s well worth the effort. It’s best to get the basics of the language under your belt before you go through, or you may find yourself scratching your head a bit after you arrive.

Online

There are so many different websites which offer to teach you English online, and many of them are free (or affordably priced). This is a great way to learn the basics of a new language to test if it’s something you’d like to commit more of your time and money to. However, advanced language learners may be frustrated by the low-level material, and slow pace of many of these courses.

Apps

Apps are a wonderful way to meet and talk with native speakers and other language learners around the globe and practice almost any foreign language with native speakers. Just download the app and start speaking English whenever and wherever you might be, right on your phone or tablet. The world of language learning is getting a lot smaller.

Learn English with Tandem

Tandem Teachers is a combination of all the best language learning methods in one place. It’s super fun, and super easy!  Now you can get personalized instruction from qualified language teachers anytime and anywhere. Tandem lets you:

  • Receive 1-on-1 instruction with a single button.
  • Study with professionally-trained language teachers who are chosen by us for their experience, and ability.
  • Work with many different tutors, and find one who fits your personal style.
  • Take lessons as short as 15 minutes! Fit language learning easily into your busy schedule.
  • The first lesson is FREE!

Get started now with your 1st free Tandem Teachers lesson today. Download the Tandem app from the app store. It’s easy, it’s fast, and it’s fun! Your language learning adventure starts today. Don’t put it off any longer. Get Tandem Now!